Center for Diversity and Inclusion

MAO Advisory Board

The MAO Advisory Board was created at the recommendation of the Diversity Committee Physician Workforce Workgroup (chaired by Peter Slavin, with the support of Elena Olson), to help MAO address the growing URM physician issues at MGH. The co-chairs envisioned a board of opinion leaders from multidisciplinary backgrounds, roles and departments at MGH and HMS who can help effect change.

Goals for the Board

  • Provide advice on MGH physician diversity issues
  • Develop strategies to support MAO's expanded role
  • Implement new initiatives and programs through ad hoc committees


Peter L. Slavin, MD
President, Massachusetts General Hospital

Winfred W. Williams, Jr, MD
Program Scientist, Department of Molecular Biology


 Dennis Ausiello, MD
Chief, Department of Medicine
Donna M. Lawton
Senior Manager, Center for Faculty Development
Valerie E. Stone, MD
Associate Chief, General Medicine Unit
Emery N. Brown, MD, PhD
Professor of Anesthesia
David N. Louis, MD
Chief, Pathology Department
 James H. Thrall, MD
Chief, Department of Radiology

 James I. Cash, Jr, PhD
Partners Health Care
Elena Olson, JD
Executive Director
Multicultural Affairs Office
David Torchiana, MD
Chairman and CEO, Massachusetts General Physician Organization

Nancy Gagliano, MD
VP, Physician Practice Management and Customer Service

Joan Reede, MD
Dean for Diversity and Community Partnership
Harvard Medical School 

Andrew L.Warshaw, MD
Chief, Department of Surgery
Ernesto Gonzalez, MD
Director, Dermatology International Program
Allison C. Rimm
VP, Strategic Planning and Information Management
Michael Watkins, MD
Director, Vascular Surgery Research Laboratory

Ramon Gilberto Gonzalez, MD, PhD
Chief, Neuroradiology

Isaac Schiff, MD
Chief, Obstetrics and Gynecology Department

Jeanine Wiener-Kronish, M.D.
Chief, Anesthesia


Related links: