Learn More

Learn more about the Center for Diversity at the Dept. of Psychiatry

About Our Membership

The Center for Diversity is open to any member of the Department of Psychiatry. Presently, the center has 36 active members with an auxiliary list of interested persons who cannot regularly attend meetings. Members include paid and unpaid clinical staff, trainees, and support staff. Past chairs have included Dr. David Henderson, Dr. Jerrold Rosenbaum, and Dr. Greg Fricchione, all of whom remain active members. Dr. Rosenbaum, the chair of the Department of Psychiatry, remains an ardent supporter of the diversity center. Dr. Nhi-Ha Trinh is the current Director of the Center, and Dr. Anne Emmerich is the Associate Director.

 Diversity Center members




Founding members of the Center for Diversity
  • Dennis Norman, EDD
  • Ranna Parekh, MD
  • Chester Pierce, MD
  • Jerrold Rosenbaum, MD
  • Barbara Siftar
  • Deborah Washington, RN
  • Albert Yeung, MD

Diversity Center Goals

Trainee Recruitment:
One of the major goals of the center has been to increase the number of underrepresented minority trainees in the adult and child residency and psychology internship programs.

Trainee Curriculum:
We have also focused attention in having all aspects of difference, cultural, racial, religious, sexual orientation, socio-economic, age, etc., addressed in all aspects of training direction of the residency and internship training curriculums.

Psychiatry Grand Rounds:
We select several Grand Rounds speakers annually to present topics related to increasing diversity awareness and education in mental health.

Psychiatry Patient Diversity:
We have focused on studying the diversity of the psychiatric patient population at MGH and developing strategies to ensure that all psychiatric patients continue to feel that the MGH Psychiatry department is welcoming to a diverse patient population.

Recruitment and Retention of a Diverse Faculty and Staff:
We continue to focus on supporting the department’s efforts to recruit under-represented minority junior and senior staff.

Center for Diversity

Director: Nhi-Ha Trinh, MD

Associate Director: Anne Emmerich, MD

Chairs of the Psychiatry Diversity Committee

Back to Top