Research Advisory Council Members

  • Introduction

Research Advisory Council members utilize their diverse backgrounds and experience to support the research enterprise at Massachusetts General Hospital.

Research Advisory Council
Charles A. Sanders, MD
Massachusetts General Hospital
Former General Director
Glaxo, Inc.
Retired Chairman
Interim Chairman
Samuel O. Thier, MD
Partners Healthcare System
Former President and Chief Executive Officer
Dennis A. Ausiello, MDCenter for Assessment Technology and
Continuous Health (CATCH)
James I. Cash, Jr., PhDHarvard Business School 
Professor and Senior Associate Dean (Emeritus)
Brit J. d'Arbeloff
Deborah Dunsire, MDEnvivo Pharmaceuticals
President and CEO
Scott Eston
Jean-Francoise Formela, MDAtlas Ventures
Ansbert Gadicke, MDMPM Capital
Managing Director
Jean de Gunzberg, PhDDa Volterra
Chief Scientific Officer
Robert F. Higgins Highland Capital Partners
Founding Partner
Janet James RockPort Capital
General Partner and Chief Operating Officer
Rajiv Kaul Fidelity Investments
Portfolio Manager
James F. Orr, III The Rockefeller Foundation
Former Chairman
John T. Potts, Jr., MDMassachusetts General Hospital
Director of Research, Emeritus
Physician-in-Chief, Emeritus
Phyllis E. RappaportCure Alzheimer's Fund
Elizabeth G. RileyMichael Rosenblatt, MDMerck & Co, Inc.
Chief Medical Officer
George A. Scangos, PhDBiogen Idec, Inc.
Chief Executive Officer
Robert I. Tepper, MDThird Rock Ventures