The Stoeckle Center

KAISER SCHOLARS: In 1981, Robert J. Glaser, MD, then President of the Henry J Kaiser Family Foundation, established a faculty scholar program in general internal medicine. This program was designed to develop academic leaders in general medicine to help address the imbalance between specialty programs and general medicine programs at departments of medicine at U.S. medical schools. Between 1981 and 1988, thirty three faculty scholars were appointed. The program was highly successful as described in the September and October 2009 issues of SGIM's monthly FORUM (see links below).

The articles were written by Paul F. Griner, MD, an advisor to the faculty scholar program. Dr. Griner is also Professor of Medicine Emeritus at the University of Rochester School of Medicine & Dentistry; a consultant at Massachusetts General Hospital; and a Senior Lecturer at Harvard Medical School.

I: Leadership Development: The Impact of the Henry J. Kaiser Faculty Scholar Program in General Internal Medicine

Part I of the article, published in the September issue of the SGIMs monthly FORUM publication.

II: Leadership Development: The Impact of the Henry J. Kaiser Faculty Scholar Program in General Internal Medicine

Part II of the article will be published in the October issue of the SGIMs monthly FORUM publication (available late September).

Michael J. Barry, MD
Michael J. Barry, MD

mbarry@partners.org

David S. Brody, MD
David S. Brody, MD

david.brody@dhha.org

Christine K. Cassel, MD
Christine K. Cassel, MD

ccassel@abim.org

Mary E. Charlson, MD
Mary E. Charlson, MD

mecharl@med.cornell.edu

Rita Charon, MD, PhD
Rita Charon, MD, PhD

rac5@columbia.edu

Mark R. Cullen, MD
Mark R. Cullen, MD

mark.cullen@yale.edu

Steven R. Cummings, MD

scummings@psg.ucsf.edu

Arnold Epstein MD, MA
Arnold Epstein MD, MA

aepstein@hsph.harvard.edu

Linda Fried, MD, MPH
Linda Fried, MD, MPH

lpfried@columbia.edu

Alan M. Garber, MD, PhD
Alan M. Garber, MD, PhD

garber@stanford.edu

Lee Goldman, MD, MPH
Lee Goldman, MD, MPH

lg2379@columbia.edu

William Hiatt, MD
William Hiatt, MD

will.hiatt@uchsc.edu

Ralph I. Horwitz, MD, MPH
Ralph I. Horwitz, MD, MPH

Ralph.horwitz@stanford.edu

Joel D. Howell, MD, PhD
Joel D. Howell, MD, PhD

jhowell@umich.edu

Douglas Kiel, MD, MPH
Douglas Kiel, MD, MPH

kiel@hrca.harvard.edu

Eric B. Larson, MD, MPH, MACP
Eric B. Larson, MD, MPH, MACP

ebl@u.washington.edu

Kenneth M. Ludmerer, MD, MA
Kenneth M. Ludmerer, MD, MA

kludmere@im.wustl.edu

Nicole Lurie, MD, MPH
Nicole Lurie, MD, MPH

lurie@rand.org

Albert G. Mulley, MD, MPP
Albert G. Mulley, MD, MPP

amulley@partners.org

Mary Nettleman, MD, MS
Mary Nettleman, MD, MS

mary.nettleman@ht.msu.edu

Eliseo J. Perez-Stable, MD
Eliseo J. Perez-Stable, MD

eliseops@medicine.ucsf.edu

Stephen Powell, MD
Stephen Powell, MD

shpowell@novanthealth.org

Paul Ramsey, MD
Paul Ramsey, MD

pramsey@u.washington.edu

David Ransohoff, MD
David Ransohoff, MD

ransohof@med.unc.edu

Linda Rosenstock, MD, MPH
Linda Rosenstock, MD, MPH

lindarosenstock@ph.ucla.edu

Martin F. Shapiro, MD, MPH, PhD
Martin F. Shapiro, MD, MPH, PhD

mfshapiro@mednet.ucla.edu

Edward H. Shortliffe, MD, PhD
Edward H. Shortliffe, MD, PhD

ted.shortliffe@arizona.edu

Daniel W. Singer, MD
Daniel W. Singer, MD

dsinger@partners.org

Earl Steinberg, MD, MPP
Earl Steinberg, MD, MPP

esteinberg@resolutionhealth.com

Mary Tinetti, MD

met5@email.med.yale.edu

Sankey V. Williams, MD
Sankey V. Williams, MD

sankey@wharton.upenn.edu