Friday, October 7, 2011

One celebration, many stars

COMPASSIONATE CAREGIVERS: Bottom row, from left, Caillet, Guerino, Marangi and Callahan. Middle row, Park, Scott, Clarke and McNamara. Top row, Soria, Christmas, Field and Rinehart

THE THUNDEROUS RAIN that poured down on the Bulfinch Tent was no match for the applause of attendees at the annual Patient Care Services’ (PCS) “One Celebration of Many Stars” Awards Ceremony. The standing-room-only crowd simply cheered louder when each of the 12 recipients were recognized.

“The diversity and number of awards we give today offers the opportunity for clinical and support staff to be acknowledged for qualities such as advocacy, caring, compassion, leadership, coaching, creativity, flexibility and collaboration,” said Jeanette Ives Erickson, RN, DNP, senior vice president for Patient Care and chief nurse. “These are qualities that enhance and empower our staff in providing the highest quality patient care.”

More than 100 PCS employees were nominated for the seven annual awards. Ives Erickson – along with Gaurdia Banister, RN, PhD, executive director of The Institute for Patient Care – commended them for their “compassion, commitment, caring and contributions.”

The 2011 PCS awards and recipients are: Anthony Kirvilaitis Jr. Partnership in Caring Award: Amy Christmas, operations associate in the Neuroscience Intensive Care Unit, and Mark Clarke, unit service associate in the Medical Intensive Care Unit; Norman Knight Clinical Support Excellence Award: Carrole Caillet, medical assistant in Infectious Disease; Brian M. McEachern Extraordinary Care Award: Sacha Field, CCLS, child life specialist in Pediatrics; Jean M. Nardini, RN, Nurse of Distinction Award: Mary Ellen McNamara, RN, staff nurse in the Cardiac Intensive Care; Norman Knight Preceptor of Distinction Award: Richard Soria, RN, staff nurse in the Medical Intensive Care Unit; Marie C. Petrilli Oncology Nursing Award: Katie Guerino, RN, staff nurse in Infusion, and Jolene Marangi, RN, staff nurse in Gynecology Oncology; Stephanie M. Macaluso, RN, Excellence in Clinical Practice Award: Janet Callahan, PT, MS, NCS, of Physical Therapy; Julie Park, OTR/L, EdM, of Occupational Therapy; Katrina Scott, MDiv, of Chaplaincy; and Todd Rinehart, LICSW, of Social Services.

Read more articles from the 10/7/11 Hotline.


Browse the Entire Newsroom Archive

Back to Top