Friday, May 11, 2012

In General 05.11.12

Emery Neal Brown, MD, PhD, director of the Neuroscience Statistic Research Lab and the Warren M. Zapol Professor of Anesthesia, and David T. Scadden Jr., MD, director for the Center for Regenerative Medicine, were among 220 individuals elected as fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences this year. Founded in 1780, the academy recognizes some of the world’s most accomplished scholars, scientists, writers, civic, corporate and philanthropic leaders. The organization draws on its distinguished membership to address critical social and intellectual issues through studies, publications, meetings and symposia. Brown and Scadden – along with other new fellows including Hillary Clinton and Paul McCartney – will be inducted at an Oct. 6 ceremony at the academy’s headquarters in Cambridge.

David Cohen, PhD, of the Department of Radiology, was honored April 27 by the McGovern Institute for Brain Research for his invention of magnetoencephalography (MEG), a technology for measuring human brain activity with millisecond precision. Cohen spoke April 27 at the institute’s annual symposium, which coincided with the 40th anniversary of his paper describing the development of MEG technology.

Read more articles from the 5/11/12 Hotline issue.


Browse the Entire Newsroom Archive

Back to Top