Friday, June 8, 2012

ORCD showcases research fellows


CELEBRATING RESEARCH: From left, Slavin; Zhang; Sears; Hasan; Ramsey; Ann Skoczenski, PhD, Center for Faculty Development program manager; Brown; Ann Klibanski, MD, director of the Center for Faculty Development and chief of the Neuroendocrine Unit; and Harry Orf, PhD, senior vice president for Research


The scientific achievements of MGH research fellows were highlighted at the MGH Office for Research Career Development’s (ORCD) Research Fellow Poster Celebration May 24. The event, now in its sixth year, featured poster sessions highlighting some 60 abstracts; lectures by Rakesh Jain, PhD, director of the MGH Edwin L. Steele Laboratory of Tumor Biology, and Orfeu Buxton, PhD, of the BWH Sleep Medicine Division; and an awards ceremony.

Eleven research fellows were recognized and congratulated by Peter L. Slavin, MD, MGH president; Herbert Lin, MD, PhD, co-chair of the Research Fellow Poster Celebration 2012 Review Committee; and Dennis Brown, PhD, director of the ORCD.  The posters of the first-tier winners, R. Bryan Sears, PhD, Yiying Zhang, MD, MS, and Matthew R. Ramsey, PhD, were recognized as Tayyaba Hasan ORCD Posters of Prestige in honor of Tayyaba Hasan, PhD, of MGH Dermatology, the first director of the ORCD. Second-tier winners are Zhipeng Xu, MD, PhD, and Hansang Cho, PhD.  Third-tier winners are Jianping Yuan, PhD, Chan Chen, MD, Jian Teng, PhD, and Charles Lai, PhD. Fourth-tier winners are Sunanda Baliga, PhD, and Daniela Krause, MD.

“Thank you to the review committee and congratulations to all the winners, as well as all of the people who had posters today,” said Brown. “We hope this event will lead to new discussions and new collaborations in this great research enterprise at the MGH.” 

Read more articles from the 06/08/12 Hotline issue.

Browse the Entire Newsroom Archive

Back to Top