Friday, June 29, 2012

In General: 06.29.12

David Kokel, PhD, a postdoctoral researcher at the Peterson Lab in the Cardiovascular Research Center, is the first recipient of the Chi-Bin Chien Award from the Genetics Society of America, honoring his significant contributions to the field of zebrafish research. Kokel received the award June 22 during the 10th annual International Conference on Zebrafish Development and Genetics in Madison, WI.

Dennis Brown, PhD, director of the Program in Membrane Biology, associate director of the Center for Systems Biology and director of the Office for Research Career Development, received the 2012 Joseph B. Martin Dean’s Award for Leadership in the Advancement of Women at Harvard Medical School and Harvard School of Dental Medicine. The award recognizes Harvard faculty committed to the recruitment, retention and advancement of women.

Leigh Simmons, MD, of the John D. Stoeckle Center for Primary Care Innovation and the Internal Medicine Associates, was honored by the Harvard Medical School graduating class of 2012 as the “Best Clinical Instructor at the MGH.” The graduates also recognized the following residents and fellows for teaching excellence: Ian Barbash, MD, Susan Mathai, MD, Megan Sise, MD, and Shiri Feingold, MD, of the Department of Medicine; Raul Cortes, MD, Peter Fagenholz, MD, and David Fink, MD, of the Department of Surgery; Mark Adams, MD, of the Department for Anesthesia, Critical Care and Pain Medicine; Sameer Sheth, MD, and Brian Walcott, MD, of the Department of Neurosurgery; and Oriana Vesga, MD, of the Department of Psychiatry.

Read more articles from the 6/29/12 Hotline issue.


Browse the Entire Newsroom Archive

Back to Top