Friday, March 29, 2013

2013 MGH Research Scholars

*Article updated 10/JUL/2013

ESTABLISHED IN 2011 by ECOR and the MGH Research Advisory Council, the MGH Research Scholars program provides five years of unrestricted funding to give innovative investigators the flexibility to pursue projects that may lead in unexpected directions. Supported by philanthropic gifts, the program expanded from the first group of five recipients to eight scholars in 2012.  The nine 2013 MGH Research Scholars, chosen from 81 applicants, are:

•  Lynda Stuart, MD, PhD, Department of Pediatrics

•  Jose Florez, MD, PhD, Diabetes Unit/Center for Human Genetic Research

•  Dimitri Krainc, MD, PhD, Department of Neurology

•  Raymond Chung, MD, PhD, Gastroenterology Unit

•  Susan Slaugenhaupt, PhD, Department of Neurology/Center for Human Genetic Research,

•  Todd Allen, PhD, Division of Infectious Disease/Ragon Institute

•  Robert Gerszten, MD, MGH Corrigan Minehan Heart Center/Cardiovascular Research Center

•  Sydney Cash, MD, PhD, Department of Neurology

•  Sekar Kathiresan, MD, MGH Corrigan Minehan Heart Center/Center for Human Genetic Research

In announcing the 2013 scholars at the March 20 Celebration of Science, Robert Kingston, PhD, chief of Molecular Biology and chair of ECOR, noted that several earlier recipients have gone on to receive major grants from the National Institutes of Health and other funders and indicated that the program’s goal is to expand by 10 scholars each year, for a total of 50 in the program at a time. 

Information about the MGH Research Scholars program is available at

Read more articles from the 03/29/13 Hotline issue.

Browse the Entire Newsroom Archive

Back to Top