Friday, May 16, 2014

In General Awards and Honors: May 16, 2014

Emery N. Brown, MD, PhD, of the MGH Department of Anesthesia, Critical Care and Pain Medicine, has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences, a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. Members are elected to the National Academy of Sciences in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Membership is a widely accepted mark of excellence in science and is considered one of the highest honors that a scientist can receive. With the National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and National Research Council, the National Academy of Sciences provides science, technology, and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.

Diversity Inc has again named the MGH to its list of Top 10 Hospitals for Diversity, part of its 50 Top Companies for Diversity list. The magazine, which focuses on business and diversity, praised the hospital for its leadership’s involvement in ensuring a diverse workforce. In particular, it praised the commitment to mentoring minority physicians and nurses. This is the fifth year in a row that Diversity Inc has recognized the MGH with this honor.

Katharine Morley, MD, MPH, an urgent care physician at the MGH, is the recipient of the ninth annual Health Volunteers Overseas (HVO) Golden Apple Award. The award recognizes Morley’s commitment to HVO’s international educational mission. Morley was instrumental in the design and implementation of HVO’s Emergency Medical Services project in Bhutan, and the training modules she helped develop resulted in the first standardized set of protocols and emergency care procedures for the country. They are now mandatory for all physicians in the South Asia country.

Lynn Drake, MD, a physician in the Department of Dermatology and the Wellman Center for Photomedicine, recently was honored with the Rose Hirschler Award, named in honor of the first known female dermatologist in the nation.The honor is given annually by the Women’s Dermatologic Society to a physician for significant contributions to medicine and dermatology who has enhanced the role of women in the dermatologic specialty.

Read more articles from the 05/16/14 Hotline issue.


Back to Top