Friday, June 5, 2009

Employees of the year

DEPARTMENTAL STANDOUTS: From left, Paul Busse, MD, PhD, clinical director of Radiation Oncology; Martinez; Jay Loeffler, MD, chief of Radiation Oncology; Worthington; Guidara; and Farrell. Tavares, inset photo

Though in different departments, the winners of the MGH Cancer Center and the Radiation Oncology Department employee of the year awards have one thing in common: an outstanding ability to treat all patients with respect and kindness. On May 28, José Tavares, senior clinical research coordinator in the Protocol Office, was announced the winner of the Cancer Center's Employee of the Year Award. On the same day, the Radiation Oncology's front desk staff of the Cox Building lower level – Janice Guidara, Karen Martinez, Nancy Worthington and Mari Farrell -- were selected recipients of the department's Employee of the Year Award as a group.

The letter nominating Tavares noted, "He frequently goes out of his way to make patients feel at home.” Runners-up
for the Cancer Center award were Barbara Cashavelly, RN, nurse director; Shellyann Herry, patient services coordinator; Nancy Schaeffer, nurse practitioner; and Lisa Vassallo, RN, MSN, patient services coordinator.

Patient care was also the theme of the Radiation Oncology front desk staff's nomination letter: "They are committed to each and every patient. They greet each one with the same enthusiasm and warm welcoming smile."

Runners-up for the Radiation Oncology award were Ann Snow, RN, staff nurse; Georgene Fontana, RTT, radiation therapist; Judy Adams, CMD, proton dosimetrist supervisor; and Norman Doe, linear accelerator engineer.

Back to Top