Friday, July 20, 2012

In General 07.20.12

Deane Marchbein, MD, an anesthesiologist at the MGH and the Cambridge Health Alliance, was recently elected president of the board of directors for Doctors Without Borders USA. Since 2006, Marchbein has been an active member of the international organization which provides health care and medical training in war-torn and impoverished countries.

Ryan Corcoran, MD, PhD, a research fellow in the Engelman Lab at the MGH, has been named a Damon Runyon Clinical Investigator by the Damon Runyon Cancer Research Foundation. The award is presented to early career physician-scientists conducting patient-oriented cancer research. Corcoran’s goal is to develop new treatment strategies for BRAF-mutant colorectal cancer.

Alexandros Tzatsos, MD, PhD, an assistant in Genetics in the MGH Cancer Center, received a Young Investigator Award from Alex’s Lemonade Stand Foundation, a nonprofit dedicated to finding cures for children with cancer. Tzatsos was honored for his work on epigenetic regulation of self-renewal pathways in hematopoietic and leukemic stem cells.

2009 Nobel Prize laureate Jack W. Szostak, PhD, of the Department of Molecular Biology and the Center for Computational and Integrative Biology, was elected to the American Philosophical Society, one of only 5,488 members elected since it was founded by Benjamin Franklin in 1743. The society promotes useful knowledge in the sciences and humanities through excellence in scholarly research, professional meetings, publications, library resources and community outreach.

Back to Top