Friday, September 14, 2012

In General 09.14.12

Joseph Kvedar, MD, founder and director of the Partners Center for Connected Health, has been named the recipient of the 2012 Future of Health Technology Award from the Future of Health Technology Institute. The annual award honors innovative thinkers whose work helps reduce suffering, maximize the potential for self-realization and extend human potential with technology. The award will be presented Oct. 1 during the institute’s annual summit at the MIT Faculty Club.

Andrew Luster, MD, PhD, chief of the Division of Rheumatology, Allergy and Immunology and the director of the Center for Immunology and Inflammatory Diseases, has been awarded the Arthritis Foundation’s Lee C. Howley Sr. Prize for Research in Arthritis. The honor recognizes researchers whose contributions during the previous five years are a significant advance in the understanding, treatment and prevention of arthritis and rheumatic diseases.

Camille Nelson Kotton, MD, MGH clinical director for Transplant and Immunocompromised Host Infectious Diseases, has received the 2012 Roche Award for Transplant Infectious Disease from The Transplantation Society, given to individuals who have had a major international impact on the field of transplantation. Kotton’s work includes reducing the risk of transplant-related infectious diseases and increasing vaccination in transplant recipients.

Read more articles from the 9/14/12 Hotline issue.


Back to Top