Thanks to the training by W. Brad Johnson and David G. Smith, authors of Athena Rising and Good Guys, MGH has created an Allies-in-Action group of leaders to grow and nurture a community of men aligned around the purpose of being active, reliable allies for women colleagues. To draw on Johnson and Smith’s words, the goal of this allyship is to promote gender fairness and equity through both supportive and collaborative personal relationships and public acts of sponsorship and advocacy intended to drive systemic improvements to the workplace culture.
Men Allies in Action at MGH

Men Allies in Action Achievements of Note: 

These men allies have each received nominations for the 2022 Brian A. McGovern, MD Award for Clinical Excellence, created by the Mass General Physician’s Organization to honor the memory of Dr. McGovern’s dedication, compassion, and kindness to all patients and staff.

  • Allan Goldstein, MD
  • Richard Hodin, MD
  • Darshan Mehta, MD, MPH
  • Rafael Vazquez, MD

These men allies were recognized as part of the Massachusetts General Hospital Highly Cited Researchers.

  • Steve Greenberg, MD, PhD
  • Daniel Haber, MD, PhD

Brian Cummings, MD, attending physician, Pediatric Critical Care Medicine, chair, Pediatric Ethics Committee and medical director and vice chair, Mass General for Children, was appointed as the inaugural incumbent of the Ronald E. Kleinman, MD Endowed Chair in Pediatrics. Cummings’ research and teaching efforts focus on clinical ethics, quality and safety in a complex health care system.

Kenneth Freedberg, MD, of the MGH Division of General Internal Medicine and MGH Infectious Disease Unit, received the Stephen Calderwood Award for Excellence in Mentoring. This award is named after Stephen Calderwood, MD, physician emeritus and emeritus chief of the MGH Division of Infectious Diseases, a staunch advocate for promotion of faculty at all career stages and the advancement of women faculty. The award is given to an exceptional Department of Medicine research mentor whose first faculty appointment occurred more than 10 years ago.

Avinash Kambadakone, MD, FSABI
, Chair of Abdominal Imaging, received the inaugural Wittling Service Award from the Society for Advanced Body Imaging in recognition of his contributions and service to the society.

Participating faculty in the Allies in Action program, by department:


Cancer Center


Emergency Medicine


Molecular Biology


Obstetrics and Gynecology






Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation


Radiation Oncology