The NIH recently released the NIH/NRSA pay scale for FY2020. The NOT-OD-20-070 notice outlines changes to the Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award (NRSA) Stipends, Tuition/Fees and Other Budgetary Levels Effective for Fiscal Year 2020.

Effective with all Kirschstein-NRSA awards made on or after 10/1/2019, the following annual stipend levels apply to all individuals receiving support through institutional research training grants or individual fellowships, including the Maximizing Access to Research Careers (MARC) and Building Infrastructure Leading to Diversity (BUILD) programs.

For institutional training grants, (T32, T90, TL1) and individual fellowships (F32), the stipend level for the entire first year of support is determined by the number of full years of relevant postdoctoral experience when the award is issued. Relevant experience may include research experience (including industrial), teaching assistantship, internship, residency, clinical duties, or other time spent in a health-related field beyond that of the qualifying doctoral degree. Once the appropriate stipend level has been determined, the trainee or fellow must be paid at that level for the entire grant year. The stipend for each additional year of Kirschstein-NRSA support is the next level in the stipend structure and does not change mid-year.

MGH FY 2020

Years of experience NRSA pay scale
0 $52,704
1 $53,076
2 $53,460
3 $55,596
4 $57,456

Click full NOT-OD-20-070 for more details.

Contact Us

The Center for Faculty Development offers consultations and seminars to assist in the career development of faculty and trainees.