Friday, June 26, 2009

In General awards and honors

Four MGH faculty were honored June 11 with Harvard Medical School's (HMS) excellence in mentoring awards. Tayyaba Hasan, PhD, a professor of dermatology at the Wellman Center for Photomedicine and director of the MGH Office for Research Career Development, was named the recipient of the William Silen Lifetime Achievement in Mentoring Award honoring mentors who have served for 20 or more years. Maurizio Fava, MD, vice chair of the Department of Psychiatry, and Carlos Fernández-del Castillo, MD, director of the Liver, Biliary and Pancreas Center, was honored with the A. Clifford Barger Excellence in Mentoring Award, which recognizes those who embody the same commitment to mentorship as the late A. Clifford Barger, MD, who mentored countless students during his nearly 50-year HMS career. Andrew Karson, MD, MPH, director of the Clinical Decision Support Unit, received the Young Mentor Award, presented to outstanding mentors with fewer than 10 years of service.

Back to Top