Friday, March 4, 2011

In General 03.04.11

Beth Ellbeg, RN, MS, nurse director of the Preadmission Testing Area/Same-Day Surgery Unit-Preoperative Services, and Lisa Warren, MD, director of Ambulatory and Regional Anesthesia for the Department of Anesthesia, Critical Care and Pain Medicine, have received Patriot Awards from the Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve (ESGR), an organization of the U.S. Department of Defense. Recipients are recognized for offering support to National Guard or Reserve members and are nominated by an employee who serves in the National Guard or Reserve. Elizabeth Ryder, RN, MSN, of the Department of Anesthesia, Critical Care and Pain Medicine, and a lieutenant colonel in the Air Force Reserve, nominated Warren and Ellbeg, who were presented the awards Feb. 17 by two ESGR representatives.

Patricia Sylla, MD, a colorectal surgeon in the MGH Division of General and Gastrointestinal Surgery, has been awarded the 2011-2012 Harvard Catalyst/Program for Faculty Development and Diversity Faculty Fellowship. The fellowship program supports the research of a junior faculty member through a $100,000 award provided over two years. Sylla’s research is focused on evaluating the safety and efficacy of NOTES (Natural Orifice Translumenal Endoscopic Surgery) transanal endoscopic rectosigmoid resection for rectal cancer. David Rattner, MD, chief of the Division of General and Gastrointestinal Surgery, will act as Sylla’s mentor.

MGH physicians David L. Berger, MD, David G. Forcione, MD, John Godine, MD, PhD, Annekathryn Goodman, MD, Matthew M. Hutter, MD, Julie Ann Jolin, MD, Myles David Keroack, MD, Daniel Stephan Pratt, MD, and Paul Shellito, MD, were selected to a list of 2010 Top Doctors by the Just Ask a Nurse Group LLC. Honored physicians were chosen through surveys of registered nurses.

Back to Top