Friday, December 2, 2011

One patient at a time

McGovern award recipients celebrated at MGPO dinner

HONORING EXCELLENCE: From left, Fernandez-del Castillo, Hurtado and Shepard

During the fifth annual physician recognition dinner hosted Nov. 12 by the Massachusetts General Physicians Organization (MGPO), nearly 600 physicians and guests gathered to celebrate the past, present and future of MGH’s clinical contributions and to honor the memory of the late cardiologist Brian A. McGovern, MD, with the presentation of three awards in his name.

This year, nearly 100 physicians were nominated for the Brian A. McGovern, MD, Award for Clinical Excellence, which honors physicians who personify McGovern’s dedication, compassion and kindness. The recipients, announced at the dinner, are Carlos Fernandez-del Castillo, MD, of Gastrointestinal Surgery; Rocio Hurtado, MD, of Infectious Disease; and Jo-Anne Shepard, MD, of Imaging.

MGPO Chairman and CEO David F. Torchiana, MD, gave opening remarks at the event. “Regardless of the times and the challenges we face, the essence of the MGH physician and what we do will remain – we take care of one patient at a time and we always try to give them our best,” Torchiana said.

MGH President Peter L. Slavin, MD, thanked the physicians for the work they do every day and introduced a video about the Paul S. Russell, MD Museum of Medical History and Innovation. The museum will be dedicated in mid-December and open to the public early next year. For more information about the McGovern awards or to view the museum video, visit

Read more articles from the 12/02/11 Hotline issue.

Back to Top