The CDI Advisory Board was created at the recommendation of the Diversity Committee Physician Workforce Workgroup (chaired by Peter Slavin, with the support of Elena Olson), to help CDI address the growing URM physician issues at MGH. The co-chairs formed a board of opinion leaders from multidisciplinary backgrounds, roles and departments at MGH and HMS who can help effect change.

Role of the Board

  • Provide advice on MGH physician diversity issues
  • Develop strategies to support CDI's expanded role
  • Implement new initiatives and programs through ad hoc committees


Peter L. Slavin, MD
President, Massachusetts General Hospital

Winfred W. Williams, Jr, MD
Program Scientist, Department of Molecular Biology



Name Title
Donna M. Lawton Executive Director, Center for Faculty Development
Katrina Armstrong, MD Chief of Service, Department of Medicine
Emery N. Brown, MD, PhD Physician, Anesthesia Department
David N. Louis, MD Chief of Service, Department of Pathology
James I. Cash, Jr, PhD Trustee, MGH Board Member
Elena Olson, JD Executive Director, Center for Diversity and Inclusion
Thomas J. Lynch, Jr., MD Chairman and CEO, Massachusetts General Physician Organization
Joan Reede, MD Dean for Diversity and Community Partnership, Harvard Medical School
Hasan Bazari, MD Program Director, Internal Medicine Residency Program
Ernesto Gonzalez, MD Director, Dermatology International Program
Stephen B. Calderwood, MD Chief, Division of Infectious Diseases, Department of Medicine
Michael Watkins, MD Director, Vascular Surgery Research Laboratory/Associate Director, MAO
Ramon Gilberto Gonzalez, MD, PhD Professor of Radiology/Chief, Neuroradiology Division
Isaac Schiff, MD Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Jeff Davis

Sr. Vice President, Human Resources

Ronald Kleinman, MD Chief of Service, Pediatric Medical Services
Keith D. Lillemoe, MD

Chief of Service, Department of Surgery

Theodore Stern, MD Director, MGH Center for Faculty Development, Office for Clinical Careers
Dorothy Terrell Trustee, MGH Board Member
Felicia A. Smith, MD Program Director, Psychiatry
Sherri-Ann Burnett-Bowie, MD, MPH Associate Director, MAO/Division of Endocrinology
Utibe Essien, MD General Internal Medicine Fellow

Related Links:

 "Multicultural Affairs Office establishes interdepartmental advisory board", Hotline January 12, 2007; Massachusetts General Hospital.

Back to Top