Friday, June 24, 2011

In General 06.24.11

W. Scott McDougal, MD, chief of the MGH Department of Urology, was honored with the American Urological Association (AUA) Resident Teaching Award for his dedication to resident education, the advancement of urology graduate medical education and encouraging residents to pursue academic careers. McDougal received the award during the AUA national meeting May 14 in Washington, D.C.

Janet E. Hall, MD, associate chief of the MGH Reproductive Endocrine Unit, has been elected president of The Endocrine Society. With more than 14,000 members in more than 100 countries, The Endocrine Society is the world’s oldest, largest and most active organization devoted to research on hormones and the clinical practice of endocrinology. Hall’s term as 2011-2012 president began June 4 at the society’s 93rd annual meeting in Boston.

Daniel P. Hunt, MD, chief of the MGH Hospital Medicine Unit in the Division of General Internal Medicine, was honored with the 2011 Excellence in Teaching Award from the Society of Hospital Medicine. This national award recognizes a society member who has demonstrated outstanding teaching prowess and has served as a role model and mentor for hospitalists, residents, medical students and other health care professionals. Hunt received the award during the society’s annual meeting May 12 in Dallas.

Martin S. Hirsch, MD, of the MGH Infectious Disease Unit, has received the International Antiviral Society-USA (IAS-USA) Lifetime of Leadership Award. The award acknowledges individuals who have made significant and lasting contributions to the field of HIV medicine through scientific and academic leadership as well as physician education and training. Hirsch received the award during the IAS-USA annual continuing medical education course April 5 in New York City.

Linda Delahanty, MS, RD, LDN, chief dietitian and director of Nutrition and Behavioral Research for the MGH Diabetes Research Center, is a recipient of the American Dietetic Association (ADA) 2011 Medallion Award. The lifetime achievement award honors ADA members who have shown dedication to high standards of the dietetics profession through active participation, leadership and devotion to serving others in dietetics and allied health fields. It will be presented to Delahanty during the ADA’s conference and expo in San Diego this September.

Back to Top