Friday, October 21, 2011

‘Looking back and thinking forward’

From left, Potts (1981-1996), Alexander
Leaf, MD (1965-1981), and Ausiello (1996-2011)

As a slideshow of black and white images from the past turned into color photographs from the present, George Thibault, MD, president of the Josiah Macy Jr. Foundation and former chief resident and program director in the Department of Medicine, took to the podium to welcome many of the staff featured in the photos. “These are the people who have taught me the most over the years and to whom I’m eternally grateful,” he said. “The bonds we formed and the feelings of togetherness are what we are here to celebrate.”

Thibault was one of five featured speakers during the welcome session of the Department of Medicine’s “200 Years: Looking Back and Thinking Forward, The Changing Face of Medicine” reunion. The three-day event, which began Oct. 14, brought together more than 850 alumni, faculty and friends to participate in a number of lectures, receptions and networking opportunities.

Attendees included several notable Department of Medicine alumni such as Nobel Laureates Mike Brown, MD, and Joe Goldstein, MD; 96-year-old John Stanbury, MD, who served as the documented chief resident in the 1940s; and eight generations of physicians who trained at the MGH, including Peter L.
Slavin, MD, MGH president; Pulitzer Prize-winning author Siddhartha Mukherjee, MD; Samuel Thier, MD,
former president of the MGH and Partners HealthCare; and Daniel Federman, MD, senior dean of Clinical Teaching at Harvard Medical School, who presented a poignant keynote address at a gala dinner on Saturday evening.

Keeping with the bicentennial theme, many of the sessions featured an historical perspective accompanied with a look at current events. Dennis Ausiello, MD, physician-in-chief of the MGH Department of Medicine, gave welcoming remarks in the O’Keeffe Auditorium and said he looked forward to the engaging dialogue the three-day event promised.

The reunion also left ample time for alumni to catch up with one another socially – hugs, laughter and compliments were plentiful. “The opportunity to work with you and learn from each and every one of you is the greatest gift I will ever receive,” said Hasan Bazari, MD, director of the Internal Medicine Residency Program at the MGH, during his presentation.

The department also recognized MGH-trained physicians who have provided continuous
service for 50 years or more, listed here chronologically by years of service: Morton Swartz, MD;
John Stoeckle, MD; Robert Schapiro, MD; John Potts, MD; Kurt Isselbacher, MD; Gerald Foster, MD; Stephen Krane, MD; Roman DeSanctis, MD; Arnold Weinberg, MD; John Mills, MD; George Baker, MD; Dwight Robinson, MD; Cecil Coggins, MD; Stephen Goldfinger, MD; and Kurt Bloch, MD.

Read more articles from the 10/21/11 Hotline issue.


Back to Top