Friday, July 10, 2009

Two MGH physicians honored with inaugural HMS professorships

Two MGH physicians recently were honored as the first incumbents of two new endowed chairs at Harvard Medical School (HMS).



Christopher S. Ogilvy, MD, director of the MGH Endovascular and Operative Neurovascular Surgery, the Brain Aneurysm/Arteriovenous Malformation Center and the Cerebrovascular Surgery Unit, has been nominated the first incumbent of the Robert G. and A. Jean Ojemann Professorship in Surgery in the field of Neurosurgery. The professorship was established in honor of Robert Ojemann, MD, a longstanding member of the MGH Neurosurgical Service for nearly 50 years, and his wife, Jean.


Ogilvy, an internationally recognized neurovascular neurosurgeon, has worked at the MGH for more than 24 years. He will begin his appointment following a one-year fellowship in endovascular surgery at the University of Buffalo. A ceremony to honor Ogilvy was held June 9 at HMS.


"Dr. Ojemann and his wife, Jean, set a tone within the department that is still felt today," says Ogilvy. "It is fitting that with such a long and positive history at the institution, their influence will be made permanent in the form of the professorship."



Theodore A. Stern, MD, chief of the MGH Psychiatric Consultation Service, is the first incumbent of the Professorship in Psychiatry in the field of Psychosomatic Medicine/Consultation. The chair honors Ned H. Cassem, SJ, MD, former chief of the department and a highly respected physician who worked in the MGH Department of Psychiatry for more than 40 years.


Stern was recognized at a ceremony June 24. Since his arrival at the MGH in 1976, he has focused his efforts at the interface of medicine and psychiatry as an award-winning teacher, clinician, clinical researcher and editor.


"I consider it a privilege to hold a chair created in honor of Dr. Cassem, who has exemplified the virtues of the quintessential physician and leader," says Stern.

Back to Top