Friday, February 11, 2011

In General: Jain and Kwon

Rakesh Jain, PhD, director of the MGH Edwin L. Steele Laboratory of Tumor Biology and Andrew Werk Cook Professor of Radiation Oncology at HMS, is one of two recipients of the 2011 Rous-Whipple Award from the American Society for Investigative Pathology. The award is presented to a senior scientist with a distinguished and prolific career in research. Jain, whose research has focused on understanding the role of the tumor microenvironment, will receive the award on April 11.

Young-Min Kwon, MD, PhD, director of the MGH Adult Reconstructive Surgery Fellowship Program and a surgeon in the Department of Orthopædic Surgery, is the recipient of the Kappa Delta Award from the American Academy of Orthopædic Surgeons (AAOS). The Kappa Delta AwardsÊrecognize research in orthopædic surgery that is of significant impact and focuses on basic and/or clinical research related to the musculoskeletal system. It is the highest research award in the orthopædic community. Kwon is being recognized for his work on elucidating failure mechanisms in metal-on-metal hip replacements. He will receive the award on Feb. 16.

Back to Top