Thursday, December 23, 2010

In General

Andrew L. Warshaw, MD, surgeon-in-chief and chair of the Department of Surgery, was recognized by the Society for Surgery of the Alimentary Tract (SSAT) with the establishment of the Andrew L. Warshaw Master Educator Fund. The fund will help further SSAT's mission and provide financial support for the annual Andrew L. Warshaw Master Educator Award, which will be given annually to an outstanding surgical educator and mentor. The naming of the fund and award recognizes Warshaw's contributions to SSAT and surgical education. Warshaw has been an active member of SSAT over the years and served as president of the organization from 1997 to 1998.

David Scadden, MD, director of the Center for Regenerative Medicine, chief of Hematologic Malignancies and co-director of the Harvard Stem Cell Institute, was presented with the 2010 Dameshek Prize at the annual American Society of Hematology (ASH) Conference in Orlando, Fla., on Dec. 7. Scadden was selected for the award in recognition of his contributions to stem cell biology. His research in this field has given direction for interventions that improve outcomes for transplantation patients. The prize is named for the late William Dameshek, MD, who made major contributions to ASH and was the first editor of the journal Blood.

Back to Top