Friday, May 4, 2012

In General awards and recognitions: May 4, 2012

Three MGHers are recipients of the Harvard Medical School’s Harold Amos Faculty Diversity Award: Sherri-Ann Burnett-Bowie, MD, of the Endocrine Unit and associate director of the Multicultural Affairs Office; Sylvie Le Gall, PhD,director of the education and training program at the Ragon Institute of MGH, MIT and Harvard; and Andrew L. Warshaw, MD, surgeon-in-chief emeritus and senior consultant for Internal and Regional Clinical Relations. The awards – which were presented April 25 at Harvard Medical School – were established to recognize individuals who promote diversity and have made significant achievements in moving the institution toward being a diverse and inclusive community. This is the first time three MGH staff members have received the honor.

Robert Scully, MD, a pathologist who served at the MGH for more than 55 years, will be honored by the Massachusetts Medical Society with its 2012 Lifetime Achievement Award, given to a society member who has made lasting contributions to the practice of medicine over a lifetime and who has made significant contributions to the goals of the society. Scully is the first pathologist to be honored with this prestigious award, which will be presented at the

Read more articles from the 05/04/12 Hotline issue.

Back to Top