Who Should Follow a Gluten-Free Diet?
The gluten-free diet is used as a treatment for:
- Celiac disease
- Non-celiac gluten sensitivity
- Wheat allergy
It is NOT recommended as a weight loss diet or as a healthier diet than one containing gluten. People who can tolerate gluten are not advised to follow a gluten-free diet.
How Do I Read a Food Label?
To avoid gluten in the diet, read all food labels carefully to avoid products containing wheat, rye or barley. If the product label says “gluten-free,” you can feel comfortable purchasing the item. If it is NOT labeled “gluten-free,” read the ingredient list for these 6 words:
- Brewer’s yeast
*Most people with celiac disease can tolerate gluten-free oats. However, talk to your doctor before adding them to your diet. If the product is NOT labeled gluten-free, the oats can be contaminated with wheat or barley.
How Do I Keep Gluten-Free Foods Safe to Eat?
Once you have shopped for gluten-free foods, make sure they do not come in contact with foods containing gluten.
- Use a separate toaster for gluten-free products.
- Use squeeze containers of jelly, mayonnaise and mustard to avoid gluten-containing crumbs from contaminating the condiment.
- Clean all surfaces well before making a gluten-free meal. It is a good idea to make the gluten-free item first and the gluten-containing item second.
- Store gluten-free flours, baking mixes, breads and other products separately from foods containing gluten.
How Can I Learn More?
- For more information on the gluten-free diet, please visit our website www.celiaccenter.org.
- To make an appointment or to learn more about our team of experts at the Center for Celiac Research and Treatment, please call 617-724-8476.