The Learning Laboratory team, together with the many simulation educators across the Mass General simulation Community of Practice, have extensive experience with all aspects of simulation-based, hands-on training and experiential learning.

Whether at the Learning Lab or in activities in clinical spaces, lab staff and educators provide an extensive range of educational programming and instructor development opportunities across the hospital, promoting educational excellence through “deliberate practice” to improve patient care.

Learning Labratory Leadership & Staff

Jim Gordon, MD

Jim Gordon, MD, MPA

Director of the Learning Laboratory at Mass General, Chief Learning Officer, Chief of the Division of Medical Simulation in the Department of Emergency Medicine, Director of the Gilbert Program in Medical Simulation at Harvard Medical School. 
jgordon3@mgh.harvard.edu

O’Neil Britton

O’Neil Britton, MD

Chief Medical Officer, Senior Vice President
 obritton@partners.org


Andrea Paciello

Andrea Paciello, MHSA, FACHE

Executive Director of Teaching and Education
 apaciello@mgh.harvard.edu


Carl Blesius

Carl Blesius, MD

Laboratory for Computer Science
blesius.carl@mgh.harvard.edu


Emily M. Hayden

Emily M. Hayden, MD, MHPE

Faculty Lead, TeleSimulation
ehayden@mgh.harvard.edu


Maureen W. Hemingway

Maureen W. Hemingway, RN, CNS, DNP

Nursing Practice Specialist, Operating Room Nursing Service
mhemingway@mgh.harvard.edu


Sara Midwood

Sara Midwood, BA

Administrative Coordinator
smidwood@partners.org


Rebecca Minehart

Rebecca Minehart, MD, MSHPE

Faculty Lead, Operating Room Strategic Initiatives
RMINEHART@mgh.harvard.edu 


Emil Petrusa

Emil Petrusa, PhD

Faculty Lead, Academic Development
epetrusa@mgh.harvard.edu

Michael Sampson, CHSOS

Simulation Specialist
MSAMPSON1@PARTNERS.ORG

 

Patrick Y. Smithedajkul

Patrick Y. Smithedajkul, MD

Faculty Lead, Community Outreach
psmithedajkul@mgh.harvard.edu


Wayne D. Stathpoulos

Wayne D. Stathopoulos, NREMTP

Simulation Specialist
wstathopoulos@partners.org


Kevin A. Synott

Kevin A. Synnott, MA

Program Manager
 ksynnott@partners.org


James Titus

James Titus

Simulation Specialist
jtitus@partners.org


Christina Valle

Christina Valle, RN

Simulation Specialist
cfvalle@partners.org


Suresh Venkatan

Suresh Venkatan, MBBS

Simulation Specialist
svenkatan@partners.org

Simulation Officers

Departmental Simulation Officers (DSOs) are responsible for enhancing and transforming their department’s approach to teaching and professional development by expanding the use of simulation and other forms of deliberate practice in their department, and thereby throughout the hospital. DSOs help to determine and prioritize the departmental learning needs and seek opportunities to work across departments and disciplines to expand inter-professional education and collaborative practice.

Please reach out a DSO for additional information about learning opportunities in your department. If your department does not yet have a DSO, please contact the Learning Lab directly

Brenda W. Casey, MD

Brenna W. Casey, MD

Digestive Healthcare Center (GI)
bcasey2@partners.org


Erik M. Clinton, MD

Erik M. Clinton, MD

Obstetrics & Gynecology
emclinton@partners.org


Paul F. Currier, MD

Paul F. Currier, MD

Medicine (Pulmonary/Critical Care)
pcurrier@partners.org


Denise W. Gee, MD

Denise W. Gee, MD

Surgery
dgee@partners.org


May C. Pian-Smith, MD

May C. Pian-Smith, MD

Anesthesia, Critical Care & Pain Medicine
mpiansmith@partners.org


Gloria M. Salazar, MD

Gloria M. Salazar, MD

Imaging/Radiology
gmsalazar@partners.org


James K. Takayesu, MD, MSc

James K. Takayesu, MD, MSc

Emergency Medicine
jtakayesu@partners.org


R. John Tannyhill, MD, DDS

R. John Tannyhill, MD, DDS

Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery
rjtannyhill@partners.org


George Tolis, Jr., MD

George Tolis, Jr., MD

Heart Center (Cardiac Surgery)
gtolis@partners.org


Phoebe Yager, MD

Phoebe Yager, MD

Pediatrics (Critical Care)
pyager@partners.org