More than 680 physicians and guests gathered to celebrate at the ninth physician recognition dinner and the presentation of the McGovern Awards for Clinical Excellence Nov. 11 at the Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel. The 2017 McGovern Award recipients are Annemarie Fogerty, MD, of Hematology/Oncology; Ted Hong, MD, of Radiation Oncology; and Gus Vlahakes, MD, of Cardiac Surgery. This year, 175 nominations were submitted for 87 physicians.

Created in 2004 in memory of Brian A. McGovern, MD, the awards honor physicians who emulate his dedication, compassion, and kindness. The awards are endowed by a gift through the Ira and Jacquie Stepanian Recognition Endowment for Excellence.

Each recipient was introduced by a physician colleague who read excerpts from the nomination letters. Inga Lennes, MD, senior vice president for Practice Improvement and Service Excellence, congratulated Fogerty as the medical services recipient. She said Fogerty is always available to help junior colleagues and that her consults give patients a new outlook on their condition.

Dave Ryan, MD, chief of Hematology/Oncology, said he was pleased to honor Hong as the recipient from other services. He highlighted Hong’s ability to help junior faculty, fellows and residents navigate the nuances of academic medicine and improve patient care by applying new technologies, describing how Hong coordinated care for a patient from across the country.

Dolph Hutter, MD, of Cardiology, announced Vlahakes as the surgical award recipient. He praised Vlahakes for always putting patients and their families first, for always providing encouragement and advice with a smile and for being the go-to physician in the division.

Tim Ferris, MD, MGPO CEO, was the emcee for the evening, and Peter L. Slavin, MD, MGH president, offered opening remarks.

Read more articles from Hotline.