Jacques Ambrose, MD, child and adolescent psychiatrist, has been named one of Boston’s Most Influential LGBTQ+ People of Color from Get Konnected. Boston 25 Most Influential LGBTQ+ People of Color were selected from a variety of fields including academia, the arts, technology, health care, financial services, public service and retail, illustrating the diversity of the LGBTQ+ individuals who contribute to the economic, social and civic fabric of greater Boston and the state.
Eight MGH teams received Scientific Projects to Accelerate Research and Collaboration (SPARC) awards from the Henry and Allison McCance Center for Brain Health and Mass General Neuroscience. The SPARC awardees, announced at this year’s Mass General Neuroscience Day, are: Christopher Anderson, MD, MMSc, Neurology; Erin Dunn, ScD, MPH, Psychiatry; Bastien Guerin, PhD, Radiology; Leigh Hochberg, MD, PhD, Neurology; Daphne Holt, MD, PhD, Psychiatry; Jacqueline Lane, PhD, Anesthesia; Christiane Wrann, DVM, PhD, Cardiology; and Can Zhang, MD, PhD, Neurology. The awardees – along with their teams – aim to solve the most pressing challenges in brain health through the prevention of brain disease and preservation and/or improvement of brain function across the lifespan. Learn more about their projects.
Rox Anderson, MD, director of the Wellman Center for Photomedicine, was named the inaugural incumbent of the Lancer Endowed Chair in Dermatology. The chair was made possible by the generosity of Harold Lancer, MD, a graduate of the Dermatology Residency Program at Harvard Medical School. This chair will advance research, care and education in the Department of Dermatology and the Wellman Center for Photomedicine. Pictured, from left, David Fisher, MD, PhD, chief of Dermatology; Lancer; Anderson; Peter L. Slavin, MD, MGH president; and George Daley, MD, PhD, dean of Harvard Medical School
Douglas Drachman, MD, interventional cardiologist and director of Education for the Corrigan Minehan Heart Center, has been selected as the next vice chair of the American College of Cardiology’s (ACC) Annual Scientific Session. Drachman will serve as vice chair for two sessions and then transition to chair. ACC established the role of vice chair in 2014 to ensure consistency and continual improvement of the ACC's flagship meeting. The vice chair and chair are responsible for leading the development of the meeting’s educational program.
Brian Edlow, MD, associate director of the MGH Center for Neurotechnology and Neurorecovery and director of the MGH Laboratory for NeuroImaging of Coma and Consciousness; Ryuji Morizane, MD, PhD, of the Division of Nephrology; and Alexandra-Chloé Villani, PhD, assistant professor in the Department of Medicine, the Center for Immunology and Inflammatory Diseases, and the Cancer for Cancer Research, have received a National Institutes of Health Director’s New Innovator Award. The award supports exceptionally creative early career investigators who propose innovative, high-impact projects in the biomedical, behavioral or social sciences within the NIH mission.
Wolfram Goessling, MD, PhD, chief of the Division of Gastroenterology, has been honored as the inaugural incumbent of the Jules L. Dienstag, MD and Betty and Newell Hale Endowed Chair in Gastroenterology. Made possible through the generosity of Betty Hale, this chair will advance research, care and education in gastroenterology. Pictured, from left, Katrina Armstrong, MD, physician-in-chief; Dienstag; Laurence Hale; Betty Hale; Goessling; and Peter L. Slavin, MD, MGH president
James Sawalla Guseh, MD, of the Department of Medicine and Division of Cardiology, has been named an Amos Scholar and has received a four-year Harold Amos Medical Faculty Development Award through the American Heart Association. The award will support Guseh’s studies concerning non-coding RNA control of cardiac atrophy and therapeutic regression.
Sahir Kalim, MD, and Sagar Nigwekar, MD, co-directors of the MGH Kidney Research Center, have received a Helping to End Addiction Long-term (HEAL) Initiative Award from the National Institutes of Health, to study new ways to treat chronic pain and unsafe opioid use in hemodialysis patients. Through a large randomized clinical trial, they will employ interventions such as cognitive behavioral therapy and use of buprenorphine as an analgesic to determine if they can reduce chronic pain while simultaneously reducing dangerous opioid use in dialysis patients across the U.S.
The MGH has been named the No. 1 employer across all industries for 2019 by the Mayor’s Summer Jobs Program for the second year in a row. Two hundred forty-four high school students from Boston, Chelsea and Revere worked in 90 departments to learn more about careers at the MGH and gain valuable work experience. Nearly 140 staff supervisors volunteered their time and expertise to mentor these young people.
The MGH Institute of Health Professions has been named a “Great College to Work For” by ModernThink for the 10th consecutive year. The IHP was recognized in two categories: Compensation & Benefits, where pay is fair and benefits meet the needs of employees; and Respect and Appreciation, where employees are regularly recognized for their contributions. The MGH Institute, which has some 1,600 students, was included in the “Small Colleges” category for schools with fewer than 3,000 students.
Bonnie Michelman, executive director of MGH Police, Security and Outside Services, has received the President’s Award of Merit from the ASIS International – Advancing Security Worldwide. She was recognized for her extraordinary volunteer leadership contributions to ASIS and her advancements to the security profession. “As I reflect on Bonnie’s impact on members – on our profession – she is truly a monumental inspiration, in which her personal contributions have stood out,” said Christina Duffey, ASIS president, who presented Michelman with the honor. “She is an excellent example of a leader who plants seeds, builds bridges, and connects the dots when it comes to leading the transformation occurring within ASIS International and our industry.”
Tracey Simon, MD, MPH, of the Division of Gastroenterology and MGH Liver Center, has received the Leonard B. Seeff Award from the American Association for the Study of Liver Disease (AASLD). This award honors the outstanding work by a young investigator, and recognizes Seeff’s legacy as a leader in the field of hepatology, his commitment to training future leaders and his many contributions to both hepatology and AASLD over the past half century.
Sarah Wakeman, MD, medical director of the Substance Use Disorders Initiative, has received the 2019 Samuel O. Thier Award for Physician Leadership from Partners Healthcare. The award is given to a single physician each year who makes an important contribution as a leader, reflecting the core values of courage, integrity and resilience. This award was established to honor Thier, the second CEO of Partners, who epitomizes strong leadership.
Andrew L. Warshaw, MD, FACS, surgeon-in-chief emeritus, has been selected to deliver the Annual Commission on Cancer Lecture at the Clinical Congress of the American College of Surgeons on Oct. 30 in San Francisco, California. The title of his talk is “Pancreatic Cancer: Progress and Prospects.”