Manisha Bahl, MD, MPH, MGH Breast Imaging radiologist, has received the Mentored Clinical Scientist Research Career Development Award (K08) from the National Cancer Institute for her project “Development and Clinical Implementation of an Artificial Intelligence Tool to Predict Risk of Upgrade of Ductal Carcinoma In Situ.” Bahl also was awarded Magna Cum Laude for the “best in subspecialty” oral presentation at the American Roentgen Ray Society 2019 Annual Meeting and Scientific Program for her project “Architectural Distortion in the Tomosynthesis Era: How to Manage Cases with Nonmalignant Pathology at Biopsy.”
Laura Cornacchini, RN, pre-Transplant coordinator in the Kidney Transplant Program, was honored with the fifth annual Susan A. Noska Leadership, Excellence, Advocacy for Patients, and Dedication to Transplant (LEAD) Award. Noska was a cherished MGH nurse, who was dedicated to the hospital, transplantation and her patients. The award honor a member of the Transplant team who exemplifies these qualities demonstrated by Noska during her tenure at the MGH. Pictured, from left, Tony DiGiovine, RN, Transplant Unit nursing director; Cornacchini; Joren Madsen, MD, DPhil, director of the Transplant Center; Jay Fishman, MD, associate director of the Transplant Center; and Susan Noska’s daughters Nicole Noska and Michelle Noska
Sarah Coughlin, LICSW, LADC-I director of the MGH Center for Community Health Charlestown Coalition, was recognized during the Sept. 3 Red Sox game for her work as a substance use disorder who has been working in the trenches of the opioid epidemic for the last twelve years.
Merit Cudkowicz, MD, chief of Neurology, has received the Raymond D. Adams Lectureship from the American Neurological Association. The award honors Adams, emeritus Bullard Professor of Neuropathy at Harvard Medical School and emeritus chief of the MGH Neurology Service, and recognizes leaders in academic neurology and neuroscience who have exemplified excellence in research, teaching and clinical practice across the gamut of clinical neurology and neuroscience disciplines.
Oluwaseun Johnson-Akeju, MD, MMSc, director of the Neuroanesthesia Research Laboratory, has received the James Cottrell Presidential Award from the American Society of Anesthesiologists. The award recognizes colleagues who dedicate their formative careers to research.
The MGH has been recognized as a 2019 Leader in LGBTQ Healthcare Equality by the Human Rights Campaign (HRC), ranking among the nation's leading hospitals for welcoming lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer patients and employees. The survey establishes a baseline of LGBTQ best practices at healthcare institutions across the country. The Healthcare Equality Index (HEI) is the national LGBTQ benchmarking tool that evaluates health care facilities’ policies and practices related to the equity and inclusion of their LGBTQ patients, visitors and employees. Learn more about the MGH’s commitment to Transgender Health in the latest “I am MGH” video.
Helen Shih, MD, MS, MPH, director of the Central Nervous System & Eye Services and medical director of the MGH Proton Therapy Programs, and Torunn Yock, MD, director of Pediatric Radiation Oncology and Quality and Safety Departmental Quality Chair, have been elected as fellows of the American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO). The ASTRO Fellows program recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to the field of radiation oncology and to the society through research, education, patient care and service to the field.
Anne Marie Thompson, RN, staff nurse on the Bigelow 12 Emergency Department Observation Unit, received a special recognition from the Massachusetts Hospital Association for her leadership of the Question 1 Ballot Initiative. Thompson was among many nurses in the state who worked tirelessly to fight the Question 1 ballot initiative that would have mandated stringent nurse staffing at hospitals throughout the state.
Mabel Toribio, MD, Division of Endocrinology, has been awarded the American Heart Association - Harold Amos Medical Faculty Development Program Award from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. Toribio has led several clinical research studies investigating the cardiometabolic health of individuals living with HIV. With support from this career development award, Toribio will now lead a longitudinal investigation on the cardiometabolic effects of gender-affirming hormone therapy among transgender women living with HIV.
M. Brandon Westover, MD, PhD, director of the MGH Critical Care EEG Monitoring Service and the MGH Clinical Data Animation Center, has received the Derek Denny-Brown Young Neurological Scholar Award from the American Neurological Association (ANA). The award is given each year during the ANA annual meeting to new members of the association who have achieved significant stature in neurological research, and who show promise and will continue making major contributions to the field of neurology.