Explore This Fellowship

Named for the former chair and CEO of the Massachusetts General Physicians Organization (MGPO), the David F. Torchiana, MD, Fellowship in Health Policy and Management is a two-year administrative fellowship that fosters the growth and development of early-career physicians interested in health policy and management through direct involvement in MGPO projects and initiatives. Past graduates of the program have gone on to positions with a mix of clinical and administrative work, and/or NIH K-series awards.


Under the guidance of the fellowship director and other fellowship faculty, fellows will gain exposure to some of the following aspects of health care management:

  • Quality and safety
  • Performance measurement and improvement
  • Contracting
  • Hospital operations
  • Population health management
  • Payment systems
  • Other areas


Applicants should have career aspirations in health care management or policy and prior experience in leadership. Applicants must have completed residency or current fellowship by the time they apply for the fellowship and must be board-certified or board-eligible in their chosen specialty. Gap year physicians do not qualify.


Fellows will:

  • Gain an understanding of the complexities of health policy and management through frequent exposure to and mentorship from senior hospital leaders.
  • Participate in mangement curiculum and didactics, and projects, committees, and task forces to help develop competency in several areas of health policy and management.
  • Develop the requisite skills, knowledge, and perspective to succeed in a mid-level healthcare management or policy position. Fellows interested in academic careers have also obtained NIH funding after finishing the fellowship.
  • Have the option to obtain an MPH degree from the Harvard School of Public Health

How to Apply

The next fellowship term begins in July 2023; applications received by September 15, 2022 will receive priority. Submit application materials to Sarah Phair at sbphair@partners.org:

  • CV
  • One-page statement of interest
  • Two letters of recommendation, one of which must be from the applicant's current department chair or program director

Meet Our Fellows

Current Fellows

Marcus Ortega, MD, 2021-2023

Marcus Ortega, MD

Marcus Ortega, MD, completed a clinical and research fellowship in Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery at Mass General. He earned his medical degree from Sao Paulo University in Brazil, and then served in the army as a general practitioner. He also completed a research fellowship in translational cancer biology at the MD Anderson Cancer Center in Texas, and completed his residency at the University of Massachusetts Medical School in Obstetrics and Gynecology. Marcus completed the Clinical Process Improvement Leadership training and Value-based healthcare delivery course at the Harvard Business School. While in fellowship, Marcus engaged in initiatives to decrease modifiable risk factors for surgical site infection, such as the screening of undiagnosed diabetes in women undergoing elective hysterectomy. This project was chosen as a finalist of the 2020 NEJM Resident 360 QI Challenge. Among other QI initiatives, he aimed to advance the accessibility and quality of care provided to patients by initiating a telehealth project for his division. Marcus’ main interests are patient-reported surgical outcomes and improvement of perioperative services.

Zach Feldman, MD, 2021-2023

Zach Feldman, MD

Zach Feldman, MD, is a vascular surgery resident at MGH. He earned his undergraduate and master’s degree at the University of Pennsylvania in biochemistry and is a graduate of the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai. He is interested in the regionalization of surgical care with a goal of developing interventions to improve surgical outcomes at the population level, especially for rural or underserved populations. Zach is currently working with Sunita Srivastava, MD, and Mark Conrad, MD, in the Division of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery, as well as David Chang, MD, in the Department of Surgery, to study regionalization of aortic surgery. He is also pursuing an MPH at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health.

Adam Berman, MD, 2022-2024

Adam Berman, MD

Adam Berman, MD, is currently completing his fellowship in Cardiovascular Medicine at Brigham and Women’s Hospital. He received his undergraduate degree in psychology from Yeshiva University in 2011, graduating as valedictorian. After spending a year designing and leading global service programs for Yeshiva University, Adam received his MD in 2016 from Albert Einstein College of Medicine. He completed his internal medicine residency at Brigham and Women’s Hospital where he was a member in the specialized Management and Leadership Pathway. Prior to starting his clinical cardiology fellowship, he was an NIH-funded T32 research fellow in preventative cardiology research. His interests include developing and researching innovative methods of care delivery to improve cardiovascular health outcomes.

Laura Dean, MD, 2022-2024

Laura Dean, MD

Laura Dean, MD is finishing her Harvard Affiliated Emergency Medicine Residency (HAEMR) with training at Mass General, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, and Boston Children’s Hospital. She received her undergraduate degree from Harvard University and her medical degree at the Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University. Before starting her medical training, Laura worked as a speechwriter for President Barack Obama, which included efforts on communication strategy around healthcare reform and implementation. Her specific areas of interest are hospital regionalization and integration and aligning reimbursement with value.

Previous Fellows
  • Clay Ackerly, MD
  • Jordan Bohnen, MD
  • Stephen Dorner, MD
  • Zhi Ven Fong, MD
  • Daniel Frendl, MD, PhD
  • Ishani Ganguli, MD
  • McKinley Glover, MD
  • Craig Jarrett, MD
  • Andrew Loehrer, MD
  • Lydia Maurer, MD
  • Imani McElroy, MD
  • Kathleen McKee, MD
  • Creagh Milford, DO
  • Danny Mou, MD
  • Neelam Phadke, MD
  • Jack Rowe, MD
  • Kyan Safavi, MD
  • Naveen Sangji, MD
  • Naomi Sell, MD
  • Sachin Shah, MD
  • Sahael Stapleton, MD
  • Ryan Thompson, MD
  • Luis Ticona, MD
  • Jason Wasfy, MD