Meet the members of the Center for Assessment Technology & Continuous Health (CATCH) at Massachusetts General Hospital.


Dennis Ausiello, MD

  • CATCH Co-Founder and Director
  • Jackson Distinguished Professor of Clinical Medicine, Harvard Medical School
  • Physician in Chief (Emeritus), Department of Medicine, Mass General
  • Director, Pfizer

Stanley Shaw, MD

  • CATCH Faculty, Co-Founder & Co-Director
  • Co-Director, Chemical Biology, Mass General Center for Systems Biology
  • Assistant Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
  • Associate Member, Broad Institute, Harvard & MIT

Michael Cima, PhD

  • CATCH Faculty 
  • David H. Koch Professor of Engineering, MIT
  • Faculty Director of the Lemelson-MIT Program
  • Department of Materials Science and Engineering
  • Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research

J. Benjamin Crocker, MD

  • CATCH Faculty
  • Instructor in Medicine, Harvard Medical School
  • Medical Director, Ambulatory Practice of the Future, Mass General

G. William Dec, MD

  • CATCH Faculty
  • Roman Desanctis Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
  • Chief (Emeritus), Division of Cardiology, Mass General

David Edwards, PhD

  • CATCH Advisor
  • Gordon McKay Professor of the Practice of Idea Translation, Harvard School of Engineering and Applied Sciences
  • Co-founder, Wyss Institute

Jamie Heywood

  • CATCH Advisor
  • Co-Founder and Chairman, PatientsLikeMe

Gigi Hirsch, MD

  • CATCH Advisor
  • Executive Director, Center for Biomedical Innovation, MIT
  • Co-Founder and Director, New Drug Development ParaDigmS (NEWDIGS) program, MIT

George Kassabgi

  • CATCH Advisor, Co-Founder 
  • Co-Founder 
  • Mentor, Rock Health
  • Mentor, Northeastern Health Science Entrepreneurs Program
  • Advisor, Docphin, CipherHealth, Breakthrough

Robert Langer, ScD

  • CATCH Advisor 
  • Institute Professor, MIT
  • David H. Koch Institute Professor, MIT
  • Senior Lecturer, Harvard Medical School
  • Recipient, U.S. National Medal of Science 
  • Recipient, U.S. National Medal of Technology and Innovation

Martha Laposata, MBA

  • Administrative Director, CATCH

Herbert Y. Lin, MD, PhD

  • CATCH Faculty
  • Director, Translational Research, Division of Nephrology, Mass General
  • Associate Professor of Medicine, HMS

Scott Lipnick, PhD

  • Scientific Director, CATCH
  • Associate in Stem Cell and Regenerative Biology, Harvard University

Chirag Patel, PhD

  • CATCH Faculty
  • Assistant in Bioinformatics, Department of Medicine, Mass General
  • Assistant Professor, Harvard Medical School

Alex 'Sandy' Pentland, PhD

  • CATCH Faculty
  • Member US National Academies, World Economic Forum Councils
  • Advisory Board Telefonica, Google, Nissan 
  • Toshiba Professor of Media Arts and Sciences
  • Director, Human Dynamics Lab, MIT
  • Director, Media Lab Entrepreneurship Program

Todd Reid, ScD, MPH, MBA, MSc

  • CATCH Faculty
  • Epidemiologist, Senior Scientific Investigator and Lecturer, MIT

Marc Semigran, MD

  • CATCH Faculty
  • Associate Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
  • Medical Director (Emeritus), Heart Failure and Cardiac Transplant Program

David A. Shaywitz, MD, PhD

  • CATCH Co-Founder; West Coast Innovation Lead
  • Chief Medical Officer, DNAnexus

Pete Szolovitz, PhD, FACMI

  • CATCH Faculty 
  • Professor of Computational Science at MIT EEC
  • Professor of Health Sciences and Technology, Harvard/MIT Division of Health Sciences and Technology (HST)
  • Director, Clinical Decision Making Group, MIT Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory (CSAIL)

Samuel O. Thier, MD

  • CATCH Advisor 
  • Professor, Harvard Medical School 
  • President, Massachusetts General Hospital, Emeritus

Thomas Unger, PhD

  • CATCH Advisor
  • Co-Founder and Chief Strategy Officer, Naia Limited
  • Co-Founder and Senior Advisor, New Drug Development ParaDigmS (NEWDIGS) program, MIT

Deborah Wexler, MD, MPH

  • CATCH Faculty 
  • Associate Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School

Ramnik Xavier, MD, PhD

  • CATCH Faculty 
  • Chief, Mass General Gastroenterology Division
  • Kurt Isselbacher Chair in Medicine, Harvard Medical School
  • Director, Genes to Drugs Initiative, Broad Institute of Harvard and MIT