The Awards and Honors newsletter features recent awards and honors recognizing our talented and dedicated MGH staff and employees.
Do you have an award or honor that you would like the MGH community to know about? Email it, along with a photo, to:

Laura Avery, MD, associate radiologist in Emergency Medicine, has received the Excellence in Clinical Instruction in Radiology award from the Harvard Medical School graduating class of 2018. The award recognizes her excellent work in educating the next generation of radiology health specialists.


Thomas Bortfeld, PhD, chief of the MGH Physics Division in Radiation Oncology, has received the Glocker medal, the highest award from the German Medical Physics Society (DGMP). The award is named after Richard Glocker, the last doctorate student of C. W. Röntgen, and is given annually to a member of the DGMP, recognizing many years of service to the field of Medical Physics in Research and Clinical Practice. Bortfeld is the first person outside of Germany, and the youngest, to receive this honor. He will receive the award in September at the annual DGMP meeting in Nuernberg.


Hassan S. Dashti, PhD, RD, postdoctoral research fellow in the Saxena lab at the Center for Genomic Medicine, has received the Peter J. Reeds Young Investigator Award from the American Society for Nutrition (ASN) and the ASN Foundation at the Nutrition 2018 Annual Meeting for his work on advancing research aimed at understanding the relationships between dietary intake, sleep and genetics. This award is given for outstanding research in acronutrient metabolism accomplished within five years of receiving a doctorate or completing residency training. This award was established with an initial contribution from the Children’s Nutrition Research Center at Baylor College of Medicine.


Areej El-Jawahri, MD; Sophia C. Kamran, MD; and Zofia Piotrowska, MD, MHS, each of the MGH Cancer Center, have been named as a 40 Under 40 in Cancer Rising Stars and Emerging Leaders for 2018. The awards initiative – founded by McGivney Global Advisors and The Lynx Group – recognizes the contributions being made across the field of cancer by rising stars and emerging leaders younger than 40 years old. Nominations were submitted by people from across the country and represent the following categories: clinical and patient care; biopharma, diagnostics and devices; research, science and technology; government, regulatory and payer; and patient, advocacy and policy.


Tayyaba Hasan, PhD, of the Wellman Center for Photomedicine, has received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Society for Photobiology (ASP), which recognizes the illustrious career of a senior researcher whose work has significantly advanced the research areas of the ASP. She also received the Outstanding Achievement Award for seminal contributions in the field of cancer research from the Society of American Asian Scientists in Cancer Research, recognizing her seminal contributions in the field of cancer research.


Steven Grinspoon, MD, director of the MGH Program in Nutritional Metabolism and the Harvard Nutrition Obesity Research Center, has received an Albert Nelson Lifetime Achievement Award from the Marquis Who’s Who for his contributions to the understanding and treatment of metabolic changes associated with HIV disease. This honor is reserved for biographees who have demonstrated leadership, excellence and longevity within their respective industries and professions.


Joshua A. Hirsch, MD, FACR, FSIR, FSNIS, vice chair of Interventional Radiology, Quality and Safety, director of Interventional Neuroradiology and chief of the NeuroInterventional Spine Service, has been elected vice president of the American Society of Neuroradiology for the 2018-2019 term. From there he will ultimately ascend to the position of president of the 5600+ member Neuroradiology society.


Jesse B. Jupiter, MD, of the Department of Orthopedic Surgery, has received the Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award from Marquis Who’s Who for 2017-2018. This honor is reserved for biographees who have demonstrated leadership, excellence and longevity within their respective industries and professions. Jupiter also has been named a corresponding international member of the Academy of Medical Science of the Republic of Argentina.


Beverly Moy, MD, MPH, clinical director of the Breast Oncology Program at the MGH Cancer Center, and Alice Shaw, MD, PhD, director of the Center for Thoracic Cancers at the MGH Cancer Center, have both been featured in The ASCO Post special annual edition of Narratives in Oncology, profiling 12 leaders in cancer care and research. Their features are: Education Came First for Breast Cancer Expert Beverly Moy, MD, MPH, Daughter of Chinese Immigrants and Valued Mentors and a Link Between Science and Medicine Paved the Road to Oncology for Alice Tsang Shaw, MD, PhD. Moy also was honored with a Fellow of ASCO distinction, recognizing her extraordinary volunteer service and dedication to the American Society of Clinical Oncology.


Lisa Nachtigall, MD, clinical co-director of the MGH Neuroendocrine and Pituitary Tumor Clinical Center, has received the Gilbert H. Daniel’s Teaching Award for Excellence in Teaching from the MGH Endocrine Division. She teaches medical students, residents and fellows at the MGH through the Endocrine and Neuroendocrine Consult services and in clinic at the Neuroendocrine and Pituitary Tumor Clinical Center. She has mentored 21 MGH fellows and five international research fellows.


Scott Plotkin, MD, PhD, director of the MGH Neurofibromatosis Clinic, has received the Neuro-Oncology Scientific Award from the American Academy of Neurology, supported by the friends off W.K. Alfred Yung. This award recognizes an individual from any discipline and of any academic rank for a singular scientific achievement that has advanced the field of neuro-oncology.


Elena Sierra, executive administrative director of the MGH North Shore Center for Outpatient Care, has been named a 2018 Tribute to Women Honoree by the YWCA Northeastern Massachusetts. Each May, YWCA Northeastern Massachusetts hosts an inspiring awards luncheon to honor a select group of women living or working within the service areas who have made outstanding contributions in their professions and communities. Annually, the YWCA serves more than 15,000 people from our Lawrence, Haverhill, Lynn and Salem, NH locations, where people know they can turn for caring, compassionate and highly skilled support. Pictured here with Greg Pauly, MGPO chief operating officer


Stephanie Sogg, PhD, psychologist at the MGH Weight Center, has received an Integrated Health Scholarship from the International Federation for the Surgery of Obesity and Metabolic Disorders (IFSO) to attend and present at the annual IFSO World Congress in Dubai in September 2018.


Joseph P. Vacanti, MD, chief of Pediatric Surgery emeritus, has been elected president of the American Pediatric Surgical Association. The association will celebrate its 50th anniversary at its annual meeting in May 2019 in Boston where he will assume the role of president. Vacanti also has been elected an Honorary Member of the European Pediatric Surgeons Association and will be honored at the group’s annual meeting in Belgrade, Serbia in June 2019.


Marcos Vidal Melo, MD, PhD, of Anesthesia, Critical Care and Pain Medicine, has been named a Corresponding Member of the German Society of Anesthesiology and Intensive Care Medicine (Deutsche Gesellschaft fuer Anaesthesiologie und Intensivmedizin, DGAI). This is an honorific title for clinical and scientific contributions, as well as close relations with German Anesthesiology. The announcement was made at a ceremony during the German national meeting in April. The honor was presented by the president of the German Society Professor B. Zwissler and the president of the Congress, Professor N. Welte.