Second Year Fellows

Sarah J. Moum, MD, MS - Chief Fellow

Email: smoum@mgh.harvard.edu
Home town: Delray Beach, FL
Undergraduate: Northwestern University; Evanston, IL
MD: University of Florida College of Medicine; Gainesville, FL
Internship: University of Florida Health Shands Hospital; Gainesville, FL
Residency: Northwestern University; Chicago, IL
Interests: Organized medicine, health policy, teaching, neurodegenerative disease, head and neck pathologies, traveling, hiking, cooking

Jason Yoon, MD, PhD - Chief Fellow

Email: byoon@mgh.harvard.edu
Home town: Seosan, South Korea
Undergraduate: Johns Hopkins University; Baltimore, MD
MD: Johns Hopkins University; Baltimore, MD
PhD: Cambridge University (Trinity College); Cambridge, UK
Internship: Stanford University Medical Center; Stanford, CA
Residency: Stanford University Medical Center; Stanford, CA
Interests: Ultrasound-based imaging and intervention, neurotrauma, teaching, violin, running

Yves Chretien, MD, PhD

Email: ychretien@mgh.harvard.edu
Home town: Rockville, MD
Undergraduate: Columbia University, New York, NY
MD: Harvard University, Cambridge, MA
PhD: Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA
Internship: Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA
Residency: Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA

Thomas Flood, MD, PhD

Email: thomas.flood@mgh.harvard.edu
Home town: Lowell, MA
Undergraduate: Boston College; Chestnut Hill, MA
MD: University of Massachusetts Medical School, Worcester, MA
PhD: University of Massachusetts Medical School, Worcester, MA
Internship: Saint Vincent Hospital, Worcester, MA
Residency: University of Colorado, Aurora, CO
Interests: Pediatric neuroradiology, research, travel

Khaled Hammoud, MD

Email: khammoud@mgh.harvard.edu
Home town: Flint, MI
Undergraduate: Michigan State University; East Lansing, MI
MD: Michigan State University, College of Human Medicine; East Lansing, MI
Internship: Hurley Medical Center; Flint, MI
Residency: Tufts Medical Center; Boston, MA

Khalid I.A. Hassan, MD

Email: kihassan@mgh.harvard.edu
Home town: Nassau, New Providence, The Bahamas
Undergraduate: McGill University, Montreal, QC, Canada
MD: Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons, New York City, NY
Internship: Yale New Haven Hospital, New Haven, CT
Residency: Boston University Medical Center, Boston, MA
Interests: Head and Neck Imaging, Trauma Imaging, Medical Education and Quality Improvement

Brendan Kelley, MD, MSc

Email: bkelley8@mgh.harvard.edu
Home town: New York, NY
Undergraduate: University of Notre Dame; South Bend, IN
MD: New York Medical College; Valhalla, NY
Graduate: New York Medical College; Valhalla, NY
Residency: Henry Ford Hospital; Detroit, MI
Interests: autoimmune encephalitis, antibody-mediated neuroinflammation, functional and structural brain connectivity, MRI physics and protocol optimization

Jon Maffie, MD

Email: jmaffie@mgh.harvard.edu
Home town: New York University; New York, NY
Internship: Legacy Emanuel Medical Center; Portland, OR
Residency: Columbia University Medical Center; New York, NY

 


First Year Fellows

Nathan Coleman, MD

Email: nmcoleman@mgh.harvard.edu
Home town: Lincoln, Nebraska
Undergraduate: University of Nebraska-Lincoln
MD: University of Nebraska College of Medicine
Internship: Kansas University Medical Center
Residency: Indiana University School of Medicine
Interests: Hiking with my dogs, board games, working out, college football

Katharina Eikermann-Haerter, MD

Email: khaerter@mgh.harvard.edu
Home town: Iserlohn, Germany
Undergraduate: Märkisches Gymnasium, Iserlohn, Germany
MD: University Clinic, Essen, Germany, and University Louis Pasteur, Strasbourg, France
Internship: Lahey Clinic, Burlington, MA
Residency: Stanford University, CA, and Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA
Interests: Migraine and stroke

Ben Freeze, MD

Email: bfreeze@mgh.harvard.edu
Home town: Kettering, OH
Undergraduate: University of Chicago
MD, PhD: University of California, San Francisco
Internship: Maimonides Medical Center, Brooklyn, NY
Residency: NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital/Weill Cornell Medical Center, New York, NY
Interests: Neurodegeneration, brain connectivity, computational modeling

Daniel Hill, MD

Email: dhill12@mgh.harvard.edu
Home town: Cleveland, OH
Undergraduate: Baldwin-Wallace University
MD: Weill Cornell Medical College
Internship: Summa Health System-Akron City Hospital
Residency: The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center

Shervin Kamalian, MD, MMSc

Email: mkamalian@mgh.harvard.edu
Home town: Tehran, Iran
MD: Tehran Medical Branch, Azad University
Internship: MetroWest Medical Center; Framingham, MA
Residency: Mount Auburn Hospital; Cambridge, MA
Interests: Stroke imaging, CT protocol optimization, dual energy CT and teaching. Outside of work, I enjoy spending time with family, traveling and outdoor activities.

Mary Maher, MD

Email: mdmaher@mgh.harvard.edu
Home town: Gulfport, MS
Undergraduate: Ole Miss (University of Mississippi)
MD: Louisiana State University SOM-New Orleans
Internship: Harbor Hospital Transitional Year- Baltimore, Maryland
Residency: Columbia University Medical Center
Interests: My professional interests are orbital imaging, Neuro-Ophthalmology, antibody-mediated neurologic disorders and protocol optimization. Outside of work, I enjoy art, running, wine, seafood and travel.

Simone Montoya, MD

Email: smontoya1@mgh.harvard.edu
Home town: Gainesville, FL
Undergraduate: Smith College; Boston, MA
MD: University of Miami; Miami, FL
Internship: University of Washington; Seattle, WA
Residency: University of Rochester; Rochester, NY
Interests: global health, education, neurotrauma; bouldering, swimming, Formula 1 (#77 FTW), exploring new foods and places

Tiffany Tsai, MD

Email: tiffany.tsai@mgh.harvard.edu
Home town: San Francisco Bay Area
Undergraduate: University of California, Berkeley
MD: University of California, San Francisco
Internship: Kaiser Permanente Oakland Medical Center
Residency: Massachusetts General Hospital

Justin Vranic, MD

Email: jvranic@mgh.harvard.edu
Home town: Pittsburgh, PA
Undergraduate: University of Pennsylvania
MD: Northwestern University
Internship: Presence Saint Francis Hospital
Residency: University of Washington
Interests: My research interests include the application of MR vessel wall imaging techniques for the evaluation of cerebrovascular pathology, development of novel luminal and perfusion imaging techniques for the evaluation of the intracranial circulation, development of accelerated MRI acquisition techniques for imaging of the brain and spinal cord, and comparative effectiveness research for the diagnosis and treatment of cerebrovascular pathology.

Outside of work, I enjoy skiing, hiking, and exploring new restaurants and coffee shops with my wife.

Michael Wasserman, MD

Email: mwasserman1@partners.org
Home town: Natick, MA
Undergraduate: Boston University
MD: Boston University School of Medicine
Internship: Boston University Medical Center
Residency: Boston University Medical Center
Interests: Emergency/Trauma Imaging, Head and Neck Imaging, Pediatric Neuroradiology, Advanced Imaging Techniques, Community Health, Global Health, Medical Education, Quality Improvement

Chad William Farris, MD

Email: CWFarris@MGH.Harvard.edu
Home town: Rocky Hill, CT
Undergraduate: Boston University
MD: Boston University School of Medicine
Internship: Steward Carney Hospital
Residency: Boston University Medical Center
Interests: Dementia Imaging, Functional Imaging, Vascular Imaging

Monica Wood, MD

Email: mwood9@partners.org
Home town: Montreal, QC
Undergraduate: Yale University; New Haven, CT
MD: Harvard Medical School; Boston, MA
Internship: Mount Auburn Hospital; Cambridge, MA
Residency: Massachusetts General Hospital; Boston, MA
Interests: Health policy, advocacy, leadership, imaging informatics, spending time with family, traveling