The Radiation Safety Committee at Massachusetts General Hospital is the governing body for all aspects of radiation protection at the hospital. It includes all affiliated research, clinical, instructional and service units that use radiation sources in facilities owned or controlled by the hospital and operating under the hospital’s radioactive materials license issued by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, Department of Public Health - Radiation Control Program.

What We Do

The Radiation Safety Committee ensures that all possession, use and disposition of radiation sources by hospital personnel comply with federal and state regulations and specific conditions enumerated in licenses issued to the hospital.

Concomitant radiation exposure at Mass General is maintained following the guiding principle of radiation safety known as ALARA, which stands for As Low As Reasonably Achievable.

The Radiation Safety Committee meets on a monthly basis via in-person and virtual meetings. To conduct the monthly meetings, a quorum of at least one-third of the Radiation Safety Committee's membership must be present, including the Radiation Safety Officer and the management representative.

All members present at the meeting are entitled to vote. Members who have a conflict of interest relating to committee deliberations must abstain from voting. Between meetings, interim decisions may be made by established subcommittees or by a majority of voting members via e-mail ballot.

Current Members

  • Madan M. Rehani, PhD (Chairman)
  • Melissa S. Knight (Administrator)
(Members in alphabetical order)
  • Arellano, Ronald MD
    Interventional Radiology
    Ellison Tower 2-239
  • Belknap, John B.
    Bulfinch 360
  • Borges, Nicolas
    Radiation Safety Office
    West End House
  • Conklin, Gregory J. RN
    Cancer Center
    Lunder Bldg.
  • Gierga, David PhD
    Medical Physicist
    Cox 8
  • Kambadakone, Avinash MD
    Radiology/Abdominal Imaging
    White Bldg. 250
  • Liu, Bob PhD
    3 Emerson Place
  • Medich, Tara MS, CHP
    Radiation Safety Office
    West End House
  • Miller, Keith W. PhD
    Edwards 5
  • Mojtahed, Amirkasra MD
    Radiology/Abdominal Imaging
    White 270
  • Montesi, Sydney MD
    Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine
    Cox 2-201
  • Muse, Victorine MD
    Radiology Interventional/Thoracic
    Founders House
  • Srivastava, Sunita MD
    Vascular Surgery
    Wang Ambulatory Care Center
  • Tanguturi, Varsha MD
    Yawkey 5B
  • Wang, Yingbing MD
    Nuclear Medicine/Molecular Imaging
    White 427
  • Westra, Sjirk MD
    Pediatric Radiology
    White 253
  • Yang, Kai PhD
    Medical Physics
    Emerson Place 3A
  • Yokell, Daniel L, RPh
    Nuclear Medicine/Molecular Imaging
    Bartlett 501
  • Yu, Yong Ming MD, PhD
    Shriner’s Burn 212