Clinical Experience

The Massachusetts General Hospital is the largest Harvard Medical School affiliated teaching hospital, with over 900 beds. It is a world recognized, full service facility covering multiple sub-specialties. It is a Level 1 trauma center with a nationally recognized Cancer Center and active liver, kidney, and pancreas transplant surgery programs. With over 47,000 inpatient admissions per year and over 1 million outpatient visits per year, trainees are able to gain exposure to a wide variety of patients and diagnoses.

Facilities

The interventional facilities include nine state-of- the–art fluoroscopy procedure suites, and three procedure CT rooms; four additional hybrid operating rooms with both open and endovascular surgical capabilities are available as well. All fluoroscopy procedure suites are equipped with digital subtraction angiography capability and physiologic monitoring. The department is well staffed with dedicated Interventional Radiology nursing personnel to provide conscious sedation and procedural care. All nurses in the department are critical care and/or ER certified, and several are pediatric specialists.

Faculty

The interventional faculty includes experienced interventionalists, some who have more than 30 years experience:

  • Ronald S. Arellano, MD
    Associate Professor of Radiology
    Harvard Medical School
    Email: Rarellano@partners.org
  • Steven L. Dawson, MD
    Associate Professor of Radiology
    Harvard Medical School
    Email: Sdawson@partners.org
  • Suvranu Ganguli, MD
    Assistant Professor of Radiology
    Harvard Medical School
    Email: sganguli@partners.org
  • Michael S. Gee, MD, PhD
    Assistant Professor of Radiology
    Harvard Medical School
    Email: msgee@partners.org
  • Zubin Irani, MD
    Instructor in Radiology
    Harvard Medical School
    Email: Zirani@partners.org
  • Avinash Kambadakone, MD
    Assistant Professor of Radiology
    Harvard Medical School
    Email: akambadakone@partners.org
  • Raymond S. Liu, MD
    Instructor in Radiology
    Harvard Medical School
    Email: Rliu@partners.org
  • Peter R. Mueller, MD
    Professor of Radiology
    Harvard Medical School
    Email: Pmueller@partners.org
  • George R. Oliveira, MD
    Instructor in Radiology
    Harvard Medical School
    Email: Groliveira@partners.org
  • Gloria M. Salazar, MD
    Instructor in Radiology
    Harvard Medical School
    Email: Gmsalazar@partners.org
  • Anthony Samir, MD
    Associate Professor of Radiology
    Harvard Medical School
    Email: Asamir@partners.org
  • Ashraf Thabet, MD
    Assistant Professor of Radiology
    Harvard Medical School
    Email: Athabet@partners.org
  • Raul N. Uppot, MD
    Assistant Professor of Radiology
    Harvard Medical School
    Email: Ruppot@partners.org
  • T. Gregory Walker, MD
    Assistant Professor of Radiology
    Harvard Medical School
    Email: Tgwalker@partners.org
  • Ralph Weissleder, MD, PhD
    Professor of Radiology
    Harvard Medical School
    Email: Rweissleder@partners.org
  • Kei Yamada, MD
    Instructor in Radiology
    Harvard Medical School
    Email: Kyamada6@partners.org
  • Omar Zurkiya, MD, PhD
    Instructor of Radiology
    Harvard Medical School
    Email: ozurkiya@partners.org
  • Michael Zalis, MD
    Associate of Radiology
    Harvard Medical School
    Email: Mzalis@partners.org