Madan M Rehani, PhD   Director, Global Outreach for Radiation Protection Program
Chair, Radiation Safety Committee, MGH

175 Cambridge Street, Suite 244
Boston, MA 02114
Phone:   1-617-726-0518




  • Credited with contributions in improving radiation protection for patients and staff in over 70 countries previously through his actions through the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and now through MGH since 2016
  • Involved in active research at MGH in collaboration with partners from world over. Learn more
  • Involved in global educational activities in medical radiation protection. Learn more
  • His expertise is often sought by the World Health Organization (WHO), IAEA, and International Commission on Radiological Protection (ICRP)

Research Interests

At Mass General, Dr. Rehani participates in collaborative activities with several countries as well as international and national organizations to promote safer use of X-rays and radiopharmaceuticals for human application and research. Areas of interest include.


For an updated list of publications, visit:

Awards & Recognitions

  • 2021 International Commission on Radiological Protection (ICRP) awarded his Emeritus membership for life which is very rare distinction as it has been given by ICRP to only 7 persons in the last 65 years in medical radiation protection field and Dr. Rehani is the 8 th person
  • 2016 Dr Ramaiah Naidu Oration Award, Association of Medical Physicist of India for valuable contributions in Medical Physics
  • 2015 Butterfly Award by Alliance for Radiation Safety in Pediatric Imaging for leadership and global impact on improving the imaging care of children
  • 2013 Chosen among 50 medical physicists who have made outstanding contributions in the world over the last 50 years (1963-2013) and honored at the International Conference on Medical Physics in Brighton, UK - Download PDF
  • 2013 Fellow, International Organization for Medical Physics (IOMP)
  • 2013 8th Dr Supoj Angkaew Honorary Lecture of Thai Society of Radiological Technologists
  • 2011 Honorary Membership of Society for Pediatric Radiology
  • 2011 Dr. N.C. Singhal oration, Association of Medical Physicists of India (Northern Chapter), Lifetime achievement
  • 2009 Harold Johns Medal, International Organization for Medical Physics (IOMP) for International Education
  • 2005 Certificate to commemorate the Nobel Peace Prize awarded to the International Atomic Energy Agency including staff members whose work was included in the citation "safe use of radiation"
  • 2001 Dr. K.M. Rai Oration, Indian Radiological & Radiological and Imaging Association
  • 1999 Homi Bhabha Oration, Society of Nuclear Medicine, India