MGH Research Scholars Notebook

Welcome to Volume 1 of the MGH Research Scholars Notebook, a quarterly roundup of recent news about the investigators in the MGH Research Scholars program.

Andrew Chan

Andrew Chan, MD, MPH
Stuart and Suzanne Steele MGH Research Scholar 2017-2022

Sekar Kathiresan

Sekar Kathiresan, MD
Ofer and Shelly Nemirovsky MGH Research Scholar 2013-2018

Mattais Nahrendorf, PhD

Matthais Nahrendorf, MD, PhD
Weissman Family MGH Research Scholar 2014-2019

Mark Poznansky

Mark Poznansky, MD PhD
Steve and Deborah Gorlin MGH Research Scholar

Michael Talkowski

Michael Talkowski, PhD
Desmond and Ann Heathwood MGH Research Scholar 2015-2020

Elsie Taveras

Elsie Taveras, MD, MPH
Ofer and Shelly Nemirovsky MGH Research Scholar 2015-2020


Rochelle Walensky
Rochelle Walensky, MD, MPH, Steve and Deborah Gorlin MGH Research Scholar 2015-2020, has been named Chief of the Division of Infectious Diseases effective September 5, 2017. Dr. Walensky has served as a member of the Mass General faculty for 16 years and as a Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School since 2012. Read the announcement.


Sekar Kathiresan

Sekar Kathiresan, MD, Ofer and Shelly Nemirovsky MGH Research Scholar 2013-2018, was named a 2017 Distinguished Scientist by the American Heart Association.

Matthais Nahrendorf, PhD

Matthais Nahrendorf, MD, PhD, Weissman Family MGH Research Scholar 2014-2019, was selected as chair of the 2017 Gordon Research Conference on Arteriosclerosis, one of the top conferences in the field.

Mikael Pittet

Mikael Pittet, PhD, Samana Cay MGH Research Scholar, won the Inaugural Mass General Principal Investigator Mentoring Award for his work contributing to the success of PhD graduate students.

Jayrag Rajagopal, MD

Jayarag Rajagopal, MD, Kevin and Polly Maroni MGH Research Scholar 2014-2019, received the International Society for Stem Cell Research's Dr. Susan Lim Award for Outstanding Young Investigator. This award recognizes an exceptional investigator in the early part of his or her independent career in stem cell research.

Susan A. Slaugenhaupt, PhD

Susan A. Slaugenhaupt, PhD, Elizabeth G. Riley and Dan E. Smith Jr. MGH Research Scholar 2013-2018, received the Javits Neuroscience Investigator Award for demonstrating exceptional scientific excellence and productivity in neurological research. She will use the award to support research aimed at finding a treatment for Familial Dysautonomia.

Filip Swirski

Filip Swirksi, PhD, Patricia and Scott Eston MGH Research Scholar 2016-2021, won the Jeffrey M. Hoeg Award for Basic Science and Clinical Research, and received an Outstanding Investigator Award from the NHLBI.

Lawrence Wald

Lawrence Wald, PhD, Charles and Sara Fabrikant MGH Research Scholar 2015-2020, was voted Vice-President Elect of the International Society of Magnetic Resonance in Medicine (ISMRM). and will rotate into the position of President.