Pathology Organizational Overview

The Pathology Service is organized into six mission-based divisions that are overseen by the two Vice Chairs, Dennis Sgroi, MD and A. John Iafrate, MD, PhD. Each division is led by an Associate Chief of Pathology.

The clinical arm of the Pathology Service is organized into two primary divisions, Anatomic and Molecular Pathology and Laboratory and Molecular Medicine. Two additional divisions—the Center for Integrated Diagnostics and Pathology Informatics—contribute in major ways as well to the clinical mission. The last two divisions—Education, and Research—provide overarching activities that cross the other three divisions. With the clinical arm are multiple functional laboratory units. The medical and technical directors of each laboratory unit work with all of the Associate Chiefs to achieve their missions.


Anatomic & Molecular Pathology
Vânia Nosé, MD, PhD, Associate Chief

Center for Integrated Diagnostics
Jochen Lennerz, MD, PhD, Associate Chief

Stephen Black-Schaffer, MD, Associate Chief

Long Le, MD, PhD, Associate Chief, Clinical Informatics

Laboratory & Molecular Medicine
Kent B. Lewandrowski, MD, Associate Chief

David M. Langenau, PhD, Associate Chief

Pathology Major Units and Subdivisions 

Autopsy Service
  • James Stone, MD, PhD, Director

Blood Transfusion Service
  • Robert Makar, MD, PhD, Director
  • Walter (Sunny) Dzik, MD, Co-Director

Core Laboratory
  • Anand Dighe, MD, PhD, Director

  • Martha Bishop Pitman, MD, Director

Microbiology Laboratory
  • Eric Rosenberg, MD, Director

Surgical Pathology
  • Aliyah Sohani, MD, Director