Surgical Pathology Overview

The Division of Anatomic Pathology is the largest component of the Department of Pathology.  Surgical Pathology, as part of the Division of Anatomic and Molecular Pathology, led by Vania Nosé, MD, PhD, is staffed by more than 50 subspecialist surgical pathologists under the direction of Vania Nosé, and the leadership of 16 subspecialty heads.

The concept of complete subspecialization and the absence of a "general" diagnostic pathology service has been developed to:

  • Provide the most accurate diagnoses, enhance communications with subspecialized clinical services and maximize our clinical efficiency
  • Optimize teaching of residents and fellows, many of whom will become leaders in the U.S. and worldwide.  
  • Promote faculty research efforts in subspecialty areas that foster an environment in which clinical, translational and basic research can be successfully performed

The staff members of the Division participate fully in the teaching programs of the hospital and medical school. An active clinical research program is distributed among the members of the Unit

The Surgical Pathology subspecialties are listed below. Each of these forms a working group led by a senior pathologist. Each subspecialty also has a research component, and provides a framework for collaboration and academic pursuits. For a list of all faculty members in all subspecialties please refer to Pathology's "Our Doctors" page.

Surgical Pathology Subspecialties

Advanced Diagnostic Modalities