Multidisciplinary Care

Healey Center for ALS Logo

In addition to our leadership team, the Healey Center for ALS includes a robust team of doctors, nurses, therapists and specialists. Learn more about them and how they work together here.

 

Physicians
Nurse Practitioners and Registered Nurses

Maggie Bruno, RN: 617-643-7561 or mebruno@mgh.harvard.edu

Judith Carey, RN: 617-724-8995 or jcarey8@partners.org

Kristen Kingsley, RN: 617-504-1011 or kkingsley@partners.org

Sarah Luppino, RN: 617-724-3380 or sluppino@partners.org

Danica Sanders, RN: 617-643-6249 or dlsanders@mgh.harvard.edu|

Darlene Sawicki, NP: 617-726-6190 or dsawicki1@partners.org

Jen Scalia, NP: 617-726-0316 or jbscalia@partners.org

Debra Skoniecki, NP, MSN: 617-643-0422 or debra.skoniecki@mgh.harvard.edu

Taylor Stirrat, RN: 617-726-5059 or tstirrat@partners.org

Hannah Zivalic, RN: 617-643-2060 or hzivalic@mgh.harvard.edu

Physical Therapists

Physical therapists Katherine Burke, PT, DPT, NCS and Amy Swartz PT, DPT work with patients to prolong mobility and function. Recommendations may include exercises, assistive devices, adaptive equipment and outpatient or homecare therapy.

Katherine Burke, PT, DPT, NCS: 617-726-1844 or kmburke1@partners.org

Amy Swartz, DPT: 617-724-0815 or aswartz1@partners.org

Respiratory Therapists

Our clinic's respiratory therapist, Purris Williams, RRT, works with patients to evaluate breathing concerns, provide education about their respiratory issues and recommend supportive equipment.

Purris Williams, RRT: 617-724-3215 or pfwilliams@partners.org

Occupational Therapists

An occupational therapist helps evaluate function and makes suggestions for skills that are essential for independent functioning, health and wellbeing.

Julie MacLean, OTR/L: 617-726-2960 or jlmaclean@partners.org

Speech Language Pathologists

Our clinic's speech language pathologists, Paige Nalipinski, MA, CLL, SLP and Stacey Sullivan, SLP specialize in working with ALS patients to evaluate any speech and swallowing issues that ALS might cause. They can also help arrange for communication devices.

Paige Nalipinski, SLP: 617-724-0766 or pnalipinski@partners.org

Stacey Sullivan, SLP: 617-724-2045 or ssullivan26@partners.org

Other Specialists

Kate T. Brizzi, MD: Neuropalliative Care Physician
617-726-5533

Dr. Brizzi joined the ALS Multidisciplinary Clinic in 2017 and provides Supportive Neurology and Palliative Care. She is dually trained in Neurology and Palliative Care, which is an approach to care that is appropriate at any stage of illness and focuses on helping patients live well.  Her goal is to improve quality of life for both patients and their families. In her role in the ALS multidisciplinary clinic, Dr. Brizzi works together with the team to help collaborate on the treatment of patients' physical and emotional symptoms as well as to help support patients in navigating treatment choices. 

Diane Lucente: Genetic Counselor
617-726-1561

Diane Lucente, MS, LCGC worked as a research technician investigating the genetic cause of neurodegenerative and neurodevelopmental conditions for several years before training to become a Genetic Counselor, a role that she has filled for almost 20 years. For the past 12 years, she has been a Senior Research and Clinical Genetic Counselor in the MGH Center for Human Genetic Research and a member of the FTD and Clinical Genetic Units. She provides clinical care to patients and families with neurodegenerative and neurodevelopmental conditions, including diagnostic testing for patients with symptoms and pre-symptomatic testing for individuals with a 50% chance of inheriting a genetic condition. She recently "officially" joined the NCRI, providing genetic counseling to ALS patients and their families who are participating in research.  She continues to be actively involved in research to determine the genetic causes and modifiers of many neurodevelopmental and neurodegenerative conditions.

Joseph Meekins: Spiritual Care Provider
617-726-1947

As the ALS Clinic chaplain, Joe Meekins provides our staff, patients and their families with spiritual and emotional support. He lives on the North Shore of Boston where he completed his Master of Divinity and Master of Arts in Counseling at Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary in 2014 after graduating from Wheaton College, IL. He and his wife have a 1 year-old daughter named Everlee. He enjoys spending time with his family, serving at his church in Lexington, surfing and wood-working.