Multidisciplinary Care

Healey Center for ALS Logo

In addition to our leadership team, the Healey Center for ALS includes a robust team of doctors, nurses, therapists and specialists. Learn more about them and how they work together here.

 

Physicians & Nurse Practitioners
Registered Nurses
Maggie Bruno, RN
Maggie Bruno, RN
617-643-7561 or mebruno@mgh.harvard.edu
Judith Carey, RN
Judith Carey, RN
617-724-8995 or jcarey8@partners.org
Kristen Kingsley, RN
Kristen Kingsley, RN
617-504-1011 or kkingsley@partners.org
Sarah Luppino, RN
Sarah Luppino, RN:
617-724-3380 or sluppino@partners.org
Danica Sanders, RN
Danica Sanders, RN
617-643-6249 or dlsanders@mgh.harvard.edu
Taylor Stirrat, RN
Taylor Stirrat, RN
617-726-5059 or tstirrat@partners.org
Hannah Zivalic, RN
Hannah Zivalic, RN
617-643-2060 or hzivalic@mgh.harvard.edu
Physical Therapists

Physical therapists Katherine Burke, PT, DPT, NCS and Amy Swartz PT, DPT work with patients to prolong mobility and function. Recommendations may include exercises, assistive devices, adaptive equipment and outpatient or homecare therapy.

Katherine Burke, PT, DPT, NCS
Katherine Burke, PT, DPT, NCS
Physical Therapist
617-726-1844
kmburke1@partners.org
Amy Ellrodt
Amy Swartz Ellrodt, PT, DPT
Physical Therapist
617-724-0815
aswartz1@partners.org
Respiratory Therapist

Our clinic's respiratory therapist, Purris Williams, RRT, works with patients to evaluate breathing concerns, provide education about their respiratory issues and recommend supportive equipment.

Purris Williams
Purris Williams, RRT
Physical Therapist
617-724-3215 or pfwilliams@partners.org
Occupational Therapist

Julie MacLean, our occupational therapist, helps evaluate ones ability to perform activities of daily living and provides training and education for skills that are essential for independent functioning, health and well being.

Julie Maclean

Julie MacLean, OTR/L
Occupational Therapist
617-726-2960 or jlmaclean@partners.org

Speech Language Pathologists

Our clinic's speech language pathologists, Paige Nalipinski and Stacey Sullivan, specialize in working with ALS patients to evaluate any speech and swallowing issues that ALS might cause. They can also help arrange for communication devices.

Paige Nalipinski

Paige Nalipinski, MA, CCC, SLP
Speech Language Pathologist
617-724-0766 or pnalipinski@partners.org

Stacey Sullivan

Stacey Sullivan, MS, CCC, SLP
Speech Language Pathologist
617-726-2960 or jlmaclean@partners.org

Other Specialists
Diane Lucente

Diane Lucente
Genetic Counseling Manager
617-726-1561
Diane Lucente, MS, LCGC worked as a research technician investigating genetic causes of neurological diseases for several years before training to become a Genetic Counselor, a role that she has filled for the past 20+ years. For the past 15 years, she has been a Research and Clinical Genetic Counselor in the MGH Center for Genomic Medicine and Department of Neurology. She provides clinical care to patients and families with neurodegenerative and neurodevelopmental conditions, including diagnostic testing for patients with symptoms and presymptomatic testing for individuals with a 50% chance of inheriting a genetic condition. She is also actively involved in research, the focus of which is to try and determine the natural history and underlying causes for many neurodevelopmental and neurodegenerative conditions.

Joseph Meekins

Joseph Meekins
Spiritual Care Provider
978-228-3837
As the ALS Clinic chaplain, Joe Meekins provides our staff, patients and their families with spiritual and emotional support. He lives on the North Shore of Boston where he completed his Master of Divinity and Master of Arts in Counseling at Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary in 2014 after graduating from Wheaton College, IL. He and his wife have 3 children, and he enjoys spending time with his family, serving at his church in Beverly, being outdoors and wood-working.

Victoria Siddall

Victoria Siddall
Resource Specialist
vsiddall@mgh.harvard.edu
As the Resource Specialist Victoria helps patients by connecting them to community resources in their area. Additionally, she helps patients navigate Social Security Disability and Medicare, and helps patients and families connect to and navigate the different types of care and home care options.

Parenting at a Challenging Time (PACT)

The ALS PACT Program aims to support parents and coparents in addressing the disease-related challenges faced by their children (infants through young adults). A child psychologist or psychiatrist meets privately with parents to understand their children’s unique strengths and needs, and to provide ongoing developmental guidance and support throughout the family’s journey with ALS.
Archana Basu, PhD
Archana Basu, PhD,
Psychologist for PACT
Cindy Moore, PhD
Cindy Moore, PhD
Psychologist for PACT
Paula Rauch, MD
Paula Rauch, MD
Psychiatrist
PACT Program Director