Announcing the first annual award in 2019, Healey Center Director Merit Cudkowicz, MD, MsC said “My vision for the Healey Center International Prize for Innovation is that it will recognize forward-thinking innovators to join the cause and find the cure." With the support of generous donors including Affiliated Manager Group, Inc. (AMG), the Healey family and friends, we are supporting breakthroughs in ALS research.

Award Winners

2020: Project MinE, for developing the largest single disease whole genome sequencing project in the world. Award recipients include Professor Ammar Al-Chalabi of Kings College London, Professor Jan H. Veldink of University Medical Center Utrecht, Professor Orla Hardiman of Trinity College Dublin, Professor Phillip Van Damme of University of Leuven, Belgium, Professor Leonard H. van den Berg of University Medical Center Utrecht, Professor Jonathan D. Glass of Emory University, Professor John Landers of University of Massachusetts Medical School and Ms. Evy Reviers of EUpALS, Belgium. Learn more.

Timothy Miller, MD, PhD, of Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, Don Cleveland, PhD, of the Ludwig Institute at the University of California at San Diego, Richard Smith, MD, of the Center of Neurological Study in La Jolla, California, Toby Ferguson, MD, PhD, for Biogen and Frank Bennett, PhD, for Ionis Pharmaceuticals, for their work creating the first clinical trial of antisense oligonucleotide (ASO) therapy for ALS. Learn more.

2021 Prize Information

Prize amount: $50,000

Call for nominations release: May 3, 2021

Nominations due: July 9th, 2021

Notification to successful candidate: August 2021

Presentation of award: December 2021 Symposium on ALS/MND

Send questions to: