The Gupta Family Endowed Award for Innovation in ALS Care is an annual global award to honor groundbreaking new approaches that lead to exceptional care for individuals living with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS). The goal of this award is to encourage idea sharing, innovation, and forward-thinking on scalable ongoing and groundbreaking projects that have directly improved ALS patient care. This annual award is awarded to a nominated team who has developed promising new approaches to improving care for people living with ALS.

The Gupta Family Endowed Award was established in 2021 at the Sean M. Healey & AMG Center for ALS at Mass General under the direction of Merit Cudkowicz, MD, MSc, Chief of Neurology at Mass General. Learn more about the previous award winners here.

2024 Nomination Portal

Award Criteria

There are no limits on the types of solutions to improve care. Examples of ALS care innovation include but are not limited to assistive technology, multidisciplinary care, communication and education, trials, nutrition.

  • The project nominated should be realized and ongoing as well as scalable to reach a larger group of people living with ALS within one year
  • Nominees should have a touchpoint with patients and/or caregivers
  • Nominations are accepted from all but preference will be given to projects led by junior investigators/teams/clinicians
  • Nominations do not have to be from an academic institution
  • We strongly discourage multiple nominations for the same team as one will suffice
  • While self-nominations are allowed, nominations by others are preferred


The awardees will be selected by members of the Gupta family, Healey Center & AMG Scientific Advisory Council, NEALS PEACe Committee and advisors who are living with ALS.

Timeline for Submission

  • Nomination Due Date: Friday, May 17th, 2024
  • Presentation of award: 23rd Annual NEALS Meeting, October 22nd- 24th 2024
  • Award: $20,000 USD and travel reimbursement up to $2,500 USD to attend Annual NEALS Meeting

    Submit completed nomination form via portal